Plotted

Woo!! LONG TIME NO SEE!!!

*cackles*

Apparently, I either post a billion times at once, or once every five blue moons.

Anyways, just a quick post to say… I’M ALL DONE OUTLINING!!! It’s strange because I’ve never felt so conclusive about an outline before. Usually, I feel much more foggy about my ideas and scenes and it feels like I have SO MUCH left to smooth out. I finished today and for once, I didn’t have that foggy feeling. I mean, I still do have a lot to think about and more brainstorming to do, but the bones are all there. Again… I feel weird about it because I’ve never felt so Done with an outline before.

I’ve been thinking about why this might be so. I mean, my goal with this outline was to make it much more brief. I have a tendency to overplot/outline, going into very intense details about little things. While I don’t mind putting in all that work up front, I don’t think it does me any favors. Speaking from past history, I have had to COMPLETELY rewrite all of my first drafts, so all that time I spent agonizing over what a certain character was wearing or how so and so character felt at this point in the draft, or how this character … Well, that all changed! Or else was removed from the draft when I rewrote it. Or was not relevant at all. Of course, I do believe that initial brainstorming–particularly in regards to characterization and world building–helps A TON later on, so none of it is wasted time, but in my case, I feel like I was obsessing waaaaaay too much on plot details that added up to nothing.

So I’m very happy to say I managed not to get caught up in minor details this time! I really did focus on the Big Picture stuff. And I think it’s what contributed to what made this outline feel very solid and very Done. I have more Blank Spaces (*AND I’LL WRITE YOUR NAME*) this time around, many more Between Scenes in which I don’t really know what happens, but I’m okay with it. If I’ve learned anything, it’s that the actual writing part of it will help me figure it out! (And in any case, the Between Scenes are what usually get cut after the first draft anyways!) It’s been very refreshing and I feel great about it (at least for now…. We’ll see how I feel when I’m drafting >.<)

The ending surprised me, but in the best way possible! I’m SOOOOOOO happy with it and it’s gotten me excited all over again about this project! If I can get ahead with my homework in the next day or two, I may even start this drafting thing…

*sneaky grin*

Anyways, I’m feeling good!!! And I hope you all are, too! 😀 All right, I better go study for my test now!!!

Byyyyyyyyyeeeeee!

Leave a Reply

