It’s So Crazy, It Just Might Work

Hello!!!

Has it really been a month since I’ve updated the blog??

I guess so, because it’s September now!!! In the meantime, I’ve kept myself busy with work, school, volunteering, and getting started on Fox Story. If you read my previous post, you might remember that my original goal was to start drafting Fox Story at the beginning of October. Well, it turns out that I might start drafting… say, in just a few days because I’m getting a little bit restless.

I’m not sure whether it’s because Fox Story revolves more on romance than Faerie Story or whether it’s because it’s been so long since I’ve straight-out brainstormed/outlined a book, but I’m struggling. I feel like I know my characters and their arcs a lot better than I did for Faerie Story when I was first starting, but with this one, I feel like I have less of a grip on what happens in my story. I have some ideas of what I want to happen–little random snippets and scenes–but I’m having a tough time connecting them. I know the beginning well, I know the ending well, but everything in between is a giant question mark.

And ya know? Brainstorming isn’t helping me out too much on this front. I’m not getting as many ideas as I would like. I have some ideas and scenes planned out, but nowhere near the amount as I did for my other books. For my last two books, I outlined vigorously and basically had ever scene I wanted to write in the book planned, so this not-very-intense outline has gotten me a bit weirded out.

I do wonder if it’s a matter of concentration and focus. Or maybe because I haven’t been as diligent about brainstorming/outlining as I have been in the past. Or maybe it’s just because this book is different and requires something different?? I have no idea! I guess I’ll find out soon. But like I said, I do think I understand my main characters of Fox Story better and I feel like I understand their emotions better, so I’m not at a total loss… (I hope).

Anyways, the title of this post is “It’s So Crazy, It Just Might Work,” because I’m going to try to draft this thang before Crooked Kingdom comes out. AKA finish my draft by September 26th, so that when September 27th hits and Crooked Kingdom comes out, I can binge-read it all in one giant glorious piece without having to feel weirdly guilty about not writing. So, roughly, it gives me about 20 days to write it since I plan on starting next Tuesday (September 6th).

Things to note about this crazy plan:

1.It might totally not work (i.e. backfire completely) and there’s a very high chance that I will not achieve this crazy goal. Life has been rather busy of late with school + work + volunteering + PT school applications, so while I am hoping to be able to churn this thing out, who knows if I’ll have enough time to do so.

2. I’m going to try very hard to keep this draft SHORT. In the past, my first drafts have clocked in at about 100k (*clutchy face*!!) For this draft, I would really love to keep it in the 50-60k MAX! I end up throwing out ALL my words and rewriting from scratch anyways, so why write so much? However, I do tend to be long-winded, so who knows if this is a viable plan, but hey! I’m going to give it a shot!

3. I’m RIDICULOUSLY excited for the release of Crooked Kingdom, so if that isn’t a good incentive to get this story drafted, I don’t know what is!

*DEEP BREATH*

I think that’s it. Hahah, I’m not gonna lie. Typing this all out is making me the teensiest bit nervous. But hey! The absolute worst thing that can happen is that I don’t finish. And let’s face it, if that happens it’s not the end of the world!

Woo!!! All righty!!!! Wish me luck!!! I’m heading into the deep, dark Drafting Cave and may not emerge for quite some time!

See yaaaaaaaaa!!!!!

6 thoughts on “It’s So Crazy, It Just Might Work

  1. Amanda says:

    Ahhhh Erin!!!! This is such an exciting / bold plan!! I will totes be cheering you on! (And if you need some encouragement also check out our slack #productivity draft if you want to group write or just need a pep talk – I do one every morning!)

    ALSO my brainstorming is stalling out too so maybe this weekend we can help each other out! My character motivations are like….well they don’t exist so I’m slightly panicking about my outline. Can’t wait to see you TOMORROW 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • erinkbay says:

      AHHHHHH OMG YES PLEASE!!!! I TOTALLY WANT TO HELP YOU BRAINSTORM!!!!!!!! TALK TO ME ABOUT EVERYTHING!!!!!!! Omg! The funny thing is, now that I’ve decided to start drafting I’M HAVING ALL THESE SECOND THOUGHTS!!!! Am I getting cold feet??? I DON’T KNOW BUT I’M PANICKING TOO!!!! Hahah, we shall work this out soon!!! I can’t wait to see you either!!!!!!!!!!! 24 hours until I see youuuuuuu!!!!! But yes!! Also, no!!! I am so slow at everything, we will always be twinges!!!! ALWAYS!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

