Pokemon Go Book Tag!

Pokemon Go is the RAGE lately and since I haven’t tried it out myself yet, I don’t quite “get” it. However, I’ve been told by my mother and brother that it is totally up my alley and that I would easily get addicted to it! I don’t know why I resist these things! I didn’t get a Snapchat for a while because I was driven away by the hype of it all, but it turns out that it’s mighty fun and I LOVE it! Haha… Anyways, I’m digressing…

My lovely friend Katy tagged me in the Pokemon Go book tag and as a Pokemon lover myself, I’m so excited for this one!

Rules a la Read at Midnight:

Nil! A linkback is appreciated, but not required. Feel free to use the graphics. Tag people or don’t tag people, just have fun!

YAY!!!! LET’S GET STARTED!!!!!

(Note: I didn’t do all of the tags listed on Read at Midnight, but if you want to take a look at all of them, it’s on the website!)

pokemon-tag-01starters

I didn’t become an avid reader until I was in the fourth grade and my friend suggested I read A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle! I read this one in just three days, which at the time was a neck-breaking pace for me! I had never been sucked into a book like this one and it changed my life forever! Before this book, I didn’t particularly love reading, nor did I hate it. A Wrinkle in Time is the book that got me into reading!

pokemon-tag02pikachu

Doi. Harry Potter. I know I’ve said this already, but I literally don’t go more than a few months without reading Harry Potter in some form. Lately, I’ve been addicted to the audiobooks read by Stephen Fry! (OMG he is brilliant and I love his voice so much!)

Another classic is, of course, Jane Austen. I love her books. My favorites are Pride and Prejudice and Persuasion. I recently watched Austenland (a movie based on Shannon Hale’s novel of the same name) thanks to my boo Janella and LOVE IT! And of course, now it’s gotten me all in the Austen mood!

Speaking of Shannon Hale… Goose Girl remains one of my favorite books ever! It’s another one of those books that changed my life!

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

I would have to go with Game of Thrones. Those books are MASSIVE. And as much amazing stuff I’ve heard about it, I’m not sure I completely want to read them.

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell is another one I haven’t yet read because of the size, but I’m determined to find the courage one day!

pokemon-tag06-gengar

Oh boy. Where to even start. I’m TERRIBLE at putting books down (or tv, or movies, or anything else addicting). I would have to go with The Hunger Games. I read this on January 19th, 2009 (which I only remember so specifically because it was a friend’s birthday and also MLK Day!) and I stayed up late even though I had school early the next morning and knew I would regret it!

Another one is Kings Rising by C.S. Pacat. It was one of those rare books that I had decided I would stay up the night for. Oh! And also Truthwitch by Susan Dennard, which I read all in one night! UGHHHHH SOOO GOOOD!!!!!

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

OMG SO EASY! Kaz and Inej from Six of Crows. I can’t even tell you how much I love these two characters. I am forever mad at Katy for saying that Kaz could die and that Inej is too good for Kaz!!! *clutchy face* Okay, she does have a point, but STILL!! KATY HOW COULD YOU DO THAT TO ME??? I’m dying as I wait for Crooked Kingdoms. But I will love Kaz and Inje forever!

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

Hmm… I know I notice slow-paced reads, but I don’t notice fast-paced reads that much… I think I’ll go with Truthwitch again, which I have been told by friends is a fast-paced read (though, hehe, I didn’t really notice it myself!) Or maybe The Hunger Games again? That one definitely read fast!

pokemon-tag09-eevee

HAAAAAAAA! This is actually one of my biggest pet peeves. I HATE it when I see more and more and yet more books being added to a series that I thought was supposed to end. I very much like getting a conclusion and knowing that one day, I will put a book down and that will be all. I’m also not a fan of spin-offs that seem to sprout endlessly. Again, I like seeing new ideas and new worlds from authors, books, tv shows, etc, and when I see the same thing over and over again, I get tired of it.

So the answer to this is: NOTHING.

(Hahah, and sorry for the extra dose of vehemence. I am just VERY PASSIONATE about this topic!!!)

pokemon-tag14-magikarp

Six of Crows!!! The first time I read this book, I don’t know… Maybe I was reading at the wrong time, maybe I just needed more time to process, but I didn’t LOVE it. I liked it just well enough, but I didn’t feel that burning passion. However, I re-read it just a few weeks ago and OMG IT KILLED ME. It’s rare that the second time I read a book blows me away more than the first, but Leigh Bardugo has done it (and if anyone could have done it, it was Leigh!)! I’m now so so so in love with this book and I don’t think LOVE is a strong enough word to describe how I feel about it. I’m absolutely over-the-top blown away and I have such strong, intense feelings for this book (and Leigh). I don’t understand how I read this the first time and didn’t die. It’s so weird.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik is another book that took me by surprise. I picked it up on a whim when I saw it on display at the bookstore because I’d been seeing it around so much. Nevertheless, I didn’t think I would like it that much but… OH MY GOODNESS. It was FABULOUS. I got sucked in from the very first chapter and it is one of my favorite books now! I cannot explain how gloriously good it is! I immediately shoved it into any book nerd’s arms I could find!!! (Oh and if YOU haven’t read it yet, YOU BETTER!!!!!!)

pokemon-tag12-legendary

Hmm… Another hard one… I think I’m fairly good at staying on top of reading hyped books, but maybe To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han?? I’ve been meaning to read that one for a while now and I’m super excited since it features a Korean main character!! Yay!!!

pokemon-tag10-egg

OOH!!!! I’m very excited for Caraval by Stephanie Garber! I’ve been hearing some excellent, excellent things about it and it sounds like a phenomenal read with amazing Night Circus vibes!

I’m also excited to read The Reader by Traci Chee, which I have heard has gorgeous writing, much like Renee Ahdieh (AHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!).

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

OOH!!!! Leigh Bardugo, Susan Dennard, Marie Rutkoski, and Renee Ahdieh would probably be my auto-buy authors! I love them all so much and trust them to write amazing stories that I will no doubt fall in love with!!!

pokemon-tag13-server-down

I would probably have to go with Kristin Cashore! I LOVE her Graceling series, particularly Fire, and am eagerly awaiting her new book!!! And I haven’t been waiting forever in terms of actual time, but I CANNOT wait for new books from Renee Ahdieh and Marie Rutkoski now that their series have ended. And as I said before, I’m DROWNING in the anticipation of Crooked Kingdom and where is Windwitch already?? SO EXCITED for all these authors!!!!

 

WHEEEE!!! That was so much fun and it actually went SO FAST! Yay!!!

Hope you guys had as much fun as I had!

And I’m going to tag my friends Mic, Michelle, and Janella!!!

4 thoughts on “Pokemon Go Book Tag!

  1. MichellaDomenici says:

    FINALLY READING THIS POST. Saw the notification on Twitter while on the go and it totally slipped my mind!

    I CANNOT BELIEVE YOU DIDN’T LOVE SOC THE FIRST TIME YOU READ IT. omg Kaz/Inej own my freaking HEART. That scene when she gets stabbed and he runs/carries her to the boat and then is internally freaking out for days. I just can’t handle it. Oh my god I need Crooked Kingdom and I need KISSING. I hope neither of them die. I need my OTP to sail off into the sunset.

    ALSO, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is really good! I love the main sisters and the humor. can’t wait till you read it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • erinkbay says:

      I KNOW I DON’T UNDERSTAND!!!! I CAN’T EVEN BELIEVE IT MYSELF!!!! Ahaha, omg I can’t deal with Crooked Kingdom. I need it now. *dying* *drowning* *suffering*

      Whee!! Can’t wait to read some Jenny Han!!!!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

