Draft 4 Status: DONE

Hey guys!!!!!

Just a quick to note to say… OMG I FINISHED DRAFT 4!!!! I’m not quite sure how it happened, considering I thought I was hard-pressed to finish by this week, but somehow, I powered through it last night (seriously, I worked for about eight non-distracted hours–how did that happen??? I don’t know!!) and I finished!!!!! WOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

Yay!! I’m super excited!!! Again, there are sooooooo many things I still need to work on. Namely, the ending… It’s still a bit rushed and needs some flushing out… The magic system thingy, which I have still not quite figured out yet… And I think I need to use some Scrivener magic to see if the subplots and the character relationships are working as I need them and see if the pacing is smooth…

But OMG!!! It’s coming together!!! (I think… I hope!!!) My biggest fear with revising was that I would be incapable of making anything better and instead just turn my ms into a different, but equally sucky draft. Actually, my lovely friend, Amanda, sums this up quite well in her recent blog post! This was the exact conundrum I faced… Clearer on 1? Or 2? Or 3? Or 1849295798978?? Haaaaa. But like I said, I think it is getting better a little bit at a time and that makes me happy!

And now that Draft 4 is done, I’m going to take a few days off and BINGE-READ ERRRRRRRTHING!!!!! I’m reading Walk the Edge by Katie McGarry right now (OMG who is such a darling and I LOVE her–RT recap post to come!) and I think I’ll read Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman (I’ve been meaning to read this book for ages!)… And then… Cold Magic by Kate Elliott, which was highly highly recommended to me by one of my favorite people in the world, Katy (AKA Pool de Ghoul, AKA Poolie Ghoulie)!!!!!!!! I was pretty much sold when she said that there was an arranged marriage in there. Muahahahah!!!! Love me some arranged marriages. Also fake marriages. And other things to do with marriage. I don’t know why that particular trope appeals to me so much, but haaaaa, I guess you guys can expect one from me in the future!!! *wink wink* 😉

Anyways, I feel like I’m getting off track, so to sum up: Draft 4 is done, binge-reading extravaganza is in place, excited to get back to the story with Draft 5 and get this Faery Story as good as I can get it!!! And most of all, I’m excited about it. Yay!!!!

Ooh, one quick note, my friend Akshaya has a cool post on her blog as well about critique partners, in which I contribute a few notes!!!! So give that a read, if you so feel like it! 😀

All right, over and out!! See ya guys later!!! 😀 😀 😀

 

13 thoughts on “Draft 4 Status: DONE

  1. Amanda says:

    OMG Erin congrats!!!! I can’t believe you did it all in a month, that’s amazing!!! (And a week of that was RT?!) You’re my hero! You’re so fast! WHEN DO I GET TO READ FAERY STORY?!

    Meanwhile I’m attacking chapter 2 today…!

    Liked by 1 person

    • erinkbay says:

      Aaah!!!! Michelle!!!! Thanks so so much!!!! I seriously have no idea how it happened because I’m usually sooooooo distractible… but aah!!!!! 😀 😀 😀 You’re the sweetest!!!!

      Like

  2. Anna Leighton says:

    Ah! Congrats! I bet it’s amaaazzzing! 😁

    Btw you should totally read Vengeance Road, I finished it yesterday and LOVED it!!

    Like

    • erinkbay says:

      Aaah!!! No, Anna!!! It’s far far far from amazing!!! But thank you!!!! Ooh ooh!!! I’m so excited to read it!!! I’ve only heard 5 star reviews for it!!! 😀 😀 😀

      Like

  3. Katy Pool says:

    Yayyy Erin I’m so proud of you!!! You deserve a long, luxurious reading break (I’m so flattered I got a shout out!) tell me what you think of cold magic!!! (Also please tell me how to work for 8 focused hours plz)

    Like

  4. janellaa says:

    BAE BAE!!!! Oh my god you POWERED THROUGH REVISIONS WITHOUT ME!?!!? REMEMBER OUR DRAMATIC ACCOUNTABILITY BUDDY PROMISE AFTER YOU DROPPED ME OFF AT THE AIRPORT??!?!

    Just kidding, I’m SOOOOOOOO proud of you!!!!! ❤ Seriously, I'm in awe that you worked for eight freaking hours!! Happy reading 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • erinkbay says:

      I KNOW I KNOW IM SORRY IM SORRY JUJU BEAR!!!!!!! I promise you the most epic Panda Bear Slow Motion Hug when I see you again in July!!!!!! BUT OMG I AM ALL THE WAY STILL YOUR ACCOUNTABILITY BUDDY!!!!!!! BUT AAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!! You’re amazing! You’re going to rock these revisions!!!! 😍😍😍😘😘😘😘😘😘😘 Thanks, Juju, YOU DA BEST!!!! 😍😍😍😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘

      Liked by 1 person

    • erinkbay says:

      MEG YOU ARE SO SWEET!!!!! STOP IT!!! 😱😱😱😍😍😍😍😍😍 Thank you so much!!!! You’re gonna rock your writing!!!!!! 🙌🙌🙌🙌🦄🦄🦄🦄😍😍😍😘😘😘😘💗💗😲😲😘😘😘😘😘😘😘

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

