A Love Letter to The Winner’s Curse

As you might know, I’m a huge fan of The Winner’s Curse trilogy by Marie Rutkoski. And having read the last book in the series, The Winner’s Kiss, just about a week ago, I think I might actually be dead. I don’t think there are words for how much I love these books.

I haven’t been able to stop thinking about Kestrel and Arin since I finished the book. In fact, immediately after I finished The Winner’s Kiss, I opened up The Winner’s Curse and started rereading. Which is funny because that is exactly what happened last year when I finished The Winner’s Crime. These seem to be books that my love only grows stronger for with time and with each new book that comes out, which I think is a rarity. I’ve come to love The Winner’s Curse so much. I feel overwhelmed with how much these books mean to me and I cannot believe how much I love them.

While I had a couple books that I’d planned to read after finishing The Winner’s Kiss, I just don’t think I can do it. I’m still so stuck in this world that I can’t possibly move on yet. So inevitably, I’ll be ditching my current queue of books lined up for me and rereading The Winner’s Crime and possibly even The Winner’s Kiss and then maybe even back around full circle to The Winner’s Curse.

But most importantly, The Winner’s Curse is inspiring my writing so much. It’s not just the beautiful prose, but the way the plot was executed, the way the characters think, the subtleties, the incredible world-building. Everything about it is inspiring so much. I want to soak it all up. I feel SO INSPIRED right now.

I don’t think it’s too often when I (or really anybody else) feel this way. Sometimes there are books I love, but just instinctively know that I would never be able to write like that (ex: Maggie Stiefvater. I LOVE her books, but I know for a fact that I could never write like her), other times there are books where you enjoy the story, but the writing doesn’t quite speak to you, and then there are times when the story and writing just completely blows you away. Books like The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh or Truthwitch by Susan Dennard.

It’s always rare to find a book that changes your life. You might read A TON, but there are so many books that you connect with completely and that change your life! I feel like I have been changed by The Winner’s Curse. Both in terms of writing and reading. Like I said, I can’t even begin to explain how much I love these books. I really don’t know how except in incessant sobbing. I’m so incredibly excited to meet Marie Rutkoski in just a few days now. I am not exaggerating in the least when I say that I’m going to be crying all over her. (Oh, and to compound that, I’ll also be meeting Renee Ahdieh, so even more tears.)

BUT OMG GUYS THIS BOOK THIS BOOK THIS BOOK!!!!! (Here come the waterworks!) How will I ever get over this? Sniff. Help!

Well, thanks for trudging through this insane amount of rambling! (What a great start to a Friday!!!!)

And I’d love to know, what are some books that have greatly inspired you???

8 thoughts on “A Love Letter to The Winner’s Curse

  1. Katy Pool says:

    ERIN I STILL HAVENT READ IT IM STARTING IT TONIGHT!!! I had to work late ALL WEEK and now FINALLY I can read…I am dedicating all of Friday night/Saturday to this

    Liked by 1 person

    • erinkbay says:

      AHHHHHHHHH OMG FEEL FREE TO TEXT ME YOUR EMOTIONS!!!! OMG KATY I HAVENT STOPPED DYING/SOBBING SINCE LAST WEEK!!!!!!!!!! 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

      Like

Leave a Reply

