PLAN OF ATTACK (aka Draft 3 is DONE!!!!!)

AHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!! GUESS WHAT??? After about six months, give or take, I have finally, finally, finally, finished my Draft 3 rewrite for Faerie Story!!!! Okay, technically, I cheated because I skipped a scene and totally rushed the ending but I’M CALLING IT. Draft 3 is DONE!!!!! Which means, that I get to organize my next Plan of Attack, AKA Draft 4!!!!!

As you can probably tell, I’m REALLY excited! I have a ton of work to do with my story still, but I have now finally gotten to the point where I am actually revising instead of rewriting the whole dang thing!!! I’m in the midst of taking my break/simmering period right now and I want to make the most of it! So, I thought I would organize my Plan of Attack and share it on the blog!

1. Read Craft Books

I am a HUGE fan of reading craft books. I always ending up learning new things and even when there are some things that might seem really obvious or they’re things you already know, I always find that reading books about craft always open my eyes to new things. One of my favorite books is Writing the Breakout Novel by Donald Maass! I LOVE his outlook on writing and find it very empowering. (Seriously, I recommend it to EVERYONE. It is such a good book!!!!) I will be rereading his book in preparation for my next round of revisions as well as some of his others books that I’ve borrowed from the library!!!

2. Revisions

I’m so so so excited that my story is finally coming together, but there are TONS of things that I see that I need fixing. I’ve got the basic skeleton of my story put together, but I need to smooth everything out now!

Plot: I think I’ve got the major gist of it in place, but I definitely need to go back and make sure everything makes sense and that I haven’t overlooked any huge plot holes or anything like that. I also want to make sure that nothing is too repetitive (which I kind of suspect it is at this point) and that everything flows smoothly. It’ll also be nice to read back over what I’ve written and make sure that I was completely delusional and that it isn’t ALL crap 🙂

Subplots: In the writing of my story, lots of subplots have cropped up that I haven’t fully developed! Definitely need to go back in and really think about which subplots I want to keep and grow and which I want to do away with!

Character: I think I’ve got a pretty good handle on Leda (my main character), but I could definitely use some going deeper with some of my other characters (and probably still a little more with Leda as well). I want to spend some time digging into each character, making sure their motivations make sense, making sure they stay true to their character, and all that schtuff. Along the same lines, I want to make sure that my character interactions are all making sense. I want to work my main characters’ relationships with each other, make sure nothing’s moving too fast or too slow, or too suddenly.

Worldbuilding: Oof, do I need to work on some world building!! I have some of it in place (I think?) but I do want to deepen the world and get the most out of it! The main thing I’m concerned about at this point is the magic system. As of now, THERE IS NO MAGIC SYSTEM put into place. So, one of my main goals with this round of revisions is to brainstorm a good magic system. It’s been really hard to try and use magic in the story without having any rules, so this will be one of my number #1 things to do!!! I need to determine what kind of magic I want, how that magic will work, and what rules that will need to go hand and hand with said magic! This has been one of the reasons why part of my plot have been a bit murky… So yes, definitely something I want to fix!!

Umm… And this is kind of embarrassing, but considering I started and intended to have faeries in my story, quite shockingly, there seems to be very little differences between the faeries and the humans in m’book. Haha… So yeah… I need to make a firm decision about whether the faerie aspect of the story is what I really want or whether I/the story would be okay without faeries (which seems silly to say since I call it Faerie Story, but oh well, I guess that’s besides the point). It will be a rather big decision and I’m having a tough time determining how I feel about it, so I guess I’ll have to really try and weigh the pros and cons of this before coming to a decision.

Pacing: This kind of goes hand and hand with plot, butttttttt, I’m sensing that one of my biggest problems with Faerie Story is the pacing. Of course, I’ll have to see what I think of it when I’m reading through it, but if I’m remembering correctly, my beginning (Act I) is horrendously long and slow. That is another thing that I want to work on with these next few revisions. I want to tighten the pacing and make sure that everything is flowing smoothly.

And well, that’s the basically what I’m going to work on and figure out in the next coming weeks and months! I don’t expect to fix all my problems in this round of revisions, but it is what I want to keep in the back of my mind and hopefully get at least a few things from this list checked! And of course, goals and deadlines are the life of me, sooooo to end, I’m going to state my anticipated/hopeful deadline! I’m going to give myself plenty of room to get Draft 4 done and say that I want to finish by the end of May, by the absolute latest!! Buuuuut, ideally I would like to have this draft finished by the end of April! Will that happen? Possibly no. I’m not sure how long it’s going to take for me to figure out solutions to these problems and what other roadblocks I might encounter with this round, but I’m determined and hopeful and excited!

Well, I am off to read some more of Writing the Breakout Novel and getting absolutely PUMPED for my revisions!!! Bye everyone and thank you for reading!!! Hope you have a lovely Saturday!!! 😀 😀 😀

~P.S. I ended up changing my color scheme to this awesome turquoise-y color because I thought it felt super springy and boy, am I ready for spring!!! Whaddya guys think?? 😀

5 thoughts on “PLAN OF ATTACK (aka Draft 3 is DONE!!!!!)

    • erinkbay says:

      Maddy Maddy MADDDY!!!!!!!!!! You can totally do this!!!!!! Let’s keep strong with our focus sessions!!! And hahah, you can read it when it doesn’t suck so much!!!! Aka, in a few months??? Haha, but thank MADDY PADDY!!!! You’re awesome!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Madeleine Colis says:

        LOL that’s literally what I’ve been telling people for months too (you can read it when it’s not awful/when it’s actually done lololllzzz) YES to more focus sessions though! and I am also happy to read things in any state of readiness, not just perfection! I do first drafts too… 😛

        Like

Leave a Reply

