Goal Making Part 1

With New Year’s and all, I thought I’d write a post about making goals! I know I’m sounding like a broken record, but I can’t help it!! I LOOOOVVVE making goals! Goals are what motivate me and inspire me to finish! Goals give me something to shoot for! Goals make me happy πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ !!!

I’m going to relate this post to mainly writing, but it can really apply to any goal that you have–running goals, school goals, music goals, weight loss goals–whatever!

I’m sure many of you have heard ofΒ SMART goals, but I think it’s really helpful and useful to go over! I learned this in my Sports Psychology class a few years ago and really loved it and think it’s a great lesson for everyone to know!Β For those of you who haven’t heard ofΒ SMART goals… Here ya go!

S – SPECIFIC

You want to have specific goals. Vague goals are hard to achieve because, well, they’re too vague. Vague, general goals might be a goodΒ starting point, but you definitely want to branch out from there and really get into the details for how you are going to achieve that goal. For example, “I want to write a book.” It’s a good place to start, but it’s definitely notΒ specific enough. So you want to dig deeper. Think about how you’re going to write the book. You might say, “I’m going to write for an hour each day after work.” That gives it a lot more specificity and it makes it a lot easier to see how you’re going to achieve your goal, which in this case, is writing a book.

M – MEASURABLE

You want to be able to measure your goals and your progress. I mean, it’s already hard enough to achieve a goal, but if you aren’t able to see your progress, it makes it that much harder. It’s easy to get discouraged if you don’t see yourself making progress. So make measurable goals. With writing, you might say, “I’m going to write an 50k book, so I’m going to write a 1k a day.” It’s really easy to see whether you’ve met that goal. You can very easily measure it and see how much closer you are to meeting your final goal. You write 1k a day, you’ll be finished in fifty days, right?

A – ATTAINABLE

This one is a pretty obvious one that everyone knows, but it canΒ be really easy to make goals that are not attainable. I know I’ve done it. I’ve said things like, “I want to write 10k a day.” Umm… Yeah, not really realistic. Not only is it not really realistic, it’ll only discourage you when you don’t achieve that goal. Instead, you want to make attainable goals. You want to think about what’s possible for you right now. How much time do you have to write? How many words are you capable of writing in a day? How many other responsibilities do you have that might get in the way of writing?

R – RELEVANT

This one also sounds like an obvious one, but it’s important to think about. Make sure that your goals are in keeping with your overall goal. It won’t really help to make a goal saying, “I want to write everyday,” and end up writing in your journal every night. Not that that’s bad, but if your overall goal is to write a book, work on that book. Don’t work on other things. Stick toΒ writing a book and make goals that will help you achieve your overarching goal.

T – TIME- SPECIFIC

You want to set a goal that has a due date, deadline–whatever you want to call it. You don’t want to work on something indefinitely because, it will feel like you drag it on forever and you never meet your goal. Of course, you still want it to be a realistic and attainable goal, so you definitely want to give yourself enough time to be able to achieve your goal, but there should be a time-limit for your goal. With the goal, writing a book, you might say, “I’m going to finish drafting this book in one year.”

Well, I hoped that helped! Part 2 will be coming next week!

As always, thanks for reading!!! πŸ˜€

 

Leave a Reply

