New Year’s Resolutions 2016

2015 was a great, great year. I met amazing friends, I started a new job that I’m really liking, I applied to PT school (gaaaaaahhhh), and overall it was just a really good year. Writing-wise, I had my first run at querying (which was a GREAT experience though it led to nothing), I wrote two new manuscripts, and I revised for the first time ever (which really was a super cool thing).

As you alllllll know by now, I LOVE to make goals and so of course, I’m posting on New Year’s! I’m really excited to make new goals and see how they’ll pan out over the next year. All right! Here goes!

1.Finish revising Faery Story

I feel like I’ve been revising this story forever, though it really only has been a few months total, if you don’t count all the months I wasn’t/didn’t do much writing. But let’s face it, I don’t want to be working on this story for years on end. I like finishing things and it’s about time that I really hunkered down and got this story finished! And to be a bit more specific, I think my goal for finishing this third draft will be around the end of February or March. I hope to go over it one more time after that, maybe take about a month to do that, and hopefully send it off to CPs in May and once I’ve gotten their notes, see if I can query by June!

2. Query Faery Story

I’d really like to be querying this year! Now that I’ve done it once, I think I’ll be able to do a much better job, know what I’m getting into, and generally be a bit more reassured in what I’m doing! I want to get my Faery Story out and running. Of course, I want it to be query-ready,Β so I won’t rush or anything, but I think I should be ready to query by the summer or so, seeing how things go!

3. Write new MS

Draft and revise a new manuscript!!!!! I have so, so many ideas and I can’t wait to write them all! One of my goals for 2016 is to start and hopefully even finish it! I think I know what my next project is going to be (I’ll start sharing more once I start it, if that does, in fact, turn out to be my next project). But it’s an idea that has been consuming me and I absolutely love it and I’m soooooo excited to write it!!! I’d love to be able to start this new project and finally get it out of my head and onto paper.

And not really writing related, but another goal I have is to get more fit (I know, sooooo cliche, but hey!) I want to be running regularly again, or at least going to the gym regularly! I remember those days when I used to get up at 5am and run just a little under 3 miles–WHAT HAPPENED??? I know I’ve talked about this before, but I do like running and I want to get back into the habit of it. Having taking a whole lot of kinesiology classes, I, of all people, should know how important it is to stay active and unfortunately, writing has made a major dent in that :/ So, I want to get back to that! Maybe be able to run a few miles without feeling like I’m dying, if I’m really ambitious, maybe make a goal to run a 10K or something???

Well, these are my goals for 2016, or at least the ones that I can think of right now! (Might go back and write some more in, if I can think of it! πŸ™‚ )

What are your resolutions and goals for 2016?

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions 2016

Leave a Reply

