End of the Year that was 2015

Wow, 2015 just flew by. I can’t believe how amazing the year was. 2015 was always a year I really, really looked forward to because of this movie right here.

giphy

I don’t know why that struck me so much, but it did and ever since I was a kid, I eagerly awaited for 2015 to arrive (mainly because I really wanted a hoverboard). So I went into the year with high hopes and you would think it wouldn’t meet my expectations, but guess what? It was such such a good year! I had an amazing year that I can’t even believe.

Last year (2014), I had just started writing. I didn’t know anything and I had no clue what I was doing. With the help of many, many blogs, I wrote my first draft of my first ever book (my Peter Pan story), clocking in at 98,000 words. It was terrible, but I did it.

I found out about critique partners and went on my search for some writer friends. I met a bunch of nice people, but it eventually fizzled out. But lucky for me, somewhere around June, Janella emailed me and she became one of my first CPs ever that stuck.

Around this same time, I started going to book events because I realized Hey! My local indy bookstore has a ton of really cool author events! I met Margaret Stohl and Kami Garcia, Shannon Hale (my personal hero), and Ally Condie at my very first local book event in May and had an amazing time.

Since then, I’ve been going to as many book events as possible. In 2015, I met so many great authors–Samantha Shannon, Mindy McGinnis, Jodi Meadows, Cynthia Hand, Marissa Meyer, Sarah J. Maas, Leigh Bardugo, and more. Book events, it turns out, are incredible and it’s amazing to be able to get to meet the writers of all these books.

In retrospect, I can’t believe that I’d been living in Salt Lake City for so long and had never gone to a book event.

At the beginning of 2015, I made a goal to draft two new books. And I did! When I made that original goal, I thought it would be a stretch goal–something that I might achieve, but likely wouldn’t.

I’ve learned so much about writing this year and it’s been amazing. I’ve learned that I can draft 100k in six weeks if I put my mind to it–something that I had thought was impossible. And though I have not ever officially participated, I know that I could win NaNo, which was another think that I had thought was impossible for me. I learned that I can revise. I learned so much more about what my writing process is like (separate post possibly to come 😉 ) and learned so much about what kind of person I am and what things I need when I write.

Life-wise, I applied to PT school (A;SLFKJA;SDLKFHA;SDJF;;kJ;lsdfasd!!!) and got a new job at another PT clinic, which is the best decision I made and I’m so happy and grateful that I chose to leave my other clinic. My brother got his new dog, a cute but very crazy husky puppy, who has been wreaking havoc in the house, but in the cutest way possible so she’s forgiven.

Reading-wise, I’m blown away. I don’t know what it was about this year, but I read so, so many amazing books. UprootedThe Wrath and the Dawn, An Ember in the Ashes, The Bone Season, Winter, Queen of Shadows, A Court of Thorns and Roses, Finnikin of the Rock, The Winner’s Crime, Six of Crows–so many that I couldn’t possibly name them all without shamefully forgetting a ton.

But, hands down, the best thing about 2015 is all the amazing people I met. Last year, I had no one to talk about books with. I would read a book, love it, but had no one to discuss it with. I knew no one that read as much as I did or loved reading as much as I did. But now, I have so many people to discuss books and writing with and it’s the most wonderful thing ever.

I have all my beautiful thudsters (you know who you are) to talk and text with. I have my friend, Mic, to obsess and fangirl over The Lunar Chronicles and An Ember in the Ashes, and basically ALL THE BOOKS with. I have my friend, Hikari, to go to book events with, and then all the wonderful people that I’ve met from bookstagram.

Sure, I’ve had my ups and downs–my dog getting sick, my car tire getting blown out, getting into my first ever car accident–but all in all, I can’t complain.

I’m looking forward to 2016 so much. I know it’s going to be a great year as well. Already, I’m looking forward to so many great book events, amazing books (TRUTHWITCH TRUTHWITCH TRUTHWITCH!!!!!), and tons and tons of more writing.

9 thoughts on “End of the Year that was 2015

  1. Katy Pool says:

    Amanda, was literally about to post “Thudsters unite!” but i see that you beat me to it. I’m glad you had such a great year Erin!! 2016 is gonna be off-the-hook– Truthwitch, Winner’s Kiss, RT, etc. etc. etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    • erinkbay says:

      It was such a great year for authors!! I’m not sure how it happened, but I won’t complain!! 🙂 And aah!! Thanks so much!! I’ve met a bunch of awesome people from that chat as well and it is AWESOME!!! (And do you have a wordpress blog?? It won’t let me click to your link?? :/ )

      Like

Leave a Reply

