And still more questions…

Oh my… Looks like I’m ADDICTED to answering these questions!! I can’t help it!!! They’re so much fun!!! Hahah… Anyways, today’s questions, brought to you by my CP/friend/fangirling partner (heheheheh), Laura!!!!!

Did you ever write fanfiction? What was it about?

Okay, OBVIOUSLY, I am a huge fangirl (Taylor Swift, Big Bang, Sherlock, Harry Potter, Friends, etc) but I have never written fan fiction!!! I know a TON of my friends who started out writing that way, but I guess that person was never me. I didn’t start writing until I was a lot older and the few things that I did write when I was a kid, I was adamant that they’d be original fiction (mainly because I had those experiences as a child where it was WOE BE ME IF I COPIED YOU with other kids and it kind of stuck). And now, I don’t think I could write fan fiction. I just have such a hard time separating my own story to the one the author wrote and to be honest, I have a hard time reading fan fiction for the very same reason. Haha, I’ll start yelling stuff like NO THAT’S NOT HOW IT GOES!!! NO HARRY DOESN’T LIKE HERMIONE THAT WAY!!! I know, I know… I’m a total weirdo. I’m not against fan fiction in any way, but I don’t think it’s for me.

2. What are your favorite movies of all time?

Yay!!! Such a fun question!!! I’ve given this a lot of thought and it looks like my movies can be categorized into “Christopher Nolan,” “Disney,” and “Other.” So here goes! Inception, Memento, Mulan, Tangled, The Lion King, Howl’s Moving Castle, Stardust, and Clueless!!!! I’m sure there are some that I’m forgetting, but these are my core favorite movies!!!

3. If you could live at a different period of time (only for the aesthetics of it, say), what would it be?

Maybe Ancient Greece or Rome??? I confess, a lot of the times, history is not my favorite subject. Depending on which teacher you get, it can be REALLY boring (okay, although I guess that’s the same with all classes). But I’ve always been fascinated by ancient civilizations, mainly involving Greece, Rome, Egypt–that kind of thing. So I definitely wouldn’t mind going there.

Or… Maybe Korea in the Chosun Dynasty?? I LOVE traditional Korean clothes!! They’re SOOOOO BEAUTIFUL, but honestly there isn’t much occasion to wear them, so I would go there just to be able to wear the clothes. And the food maybe. 🙂

4. Do you ever get inspired by real people in your writing?

I DO!!! Not so much by people I actually know (though sometimes), but mostly by watching tv. I love watching interviews about the people I love (i.e. obsess over) and getting to know what kind of person they are, what they like, what they don’t like, how they act–little things like that. And while I don’t ever go out searching for real life people for inspiration, if there is a person that I really like and admire, and find that I’m inspired by them, I naturally want to use them in my stories.

5. How do you choose your character’s names? Do you stumble upon it, or you choose by research?

Ooh!!! I LOOOOOOVE names. I’ve always been obsessed with them and naming main characters is always one of my favorite things to do and a lot of times, I actually get ideas for stories and inspiration by a name! I also can’t write until I have a name, so it’s pretty much the first thing I do when I start a book.

It kind of happens both ways; sometimes I stumble upon it and sometimes it takes a lot of name searching to find the write one. And sometimes, there are characters that come with a name (which is always nice). But when I do have to search for a name, I usually use Behind the Name, which is an awesome name website and kind of go through it, writing down all the names I like and starring the ones that I really like. Then once I have a decent list, I’ll go through it again, trying to see if I can find a name that suits my character.

And just for kicks, here’s an example of each!! One name I stumbled upon was Rosewyn, which I saw at work and thought was cool. Leda, on the other hand, took a lot of searching and sifting. And then Constance was one of those characters that inspired a book and kind of just came with her own name.

6. What was the first ‘big book’ you’ve read?

I LOVE THIS QUESTION!!! I remember this book so clearly!! The first “big book” I ever read was Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire! I remember being so proud when I finished because it was literally the biggest book I had ever read and was kind of impressed with myself for actually being able to read so much! I carried Goblet of Fire around everywhere while I was reading it, which was definitely not easy (before the Kindle-era, my friends–haha, though I still do this sometimes). It was also kind of funny because I started getting pain/soreness in my shoulder and only realized later that it was because the book was so heavy! 😀

7. When writing, what do you prefer – computer or traditional notebook?

I use both!!! I always have a notebook around when I’m writing! I HAVE to brainstorm by hand and so usually it’s filled with little snippets of scenes or ideas that randomly came to me or my list of potential character names and stuff like that. I also HAVE to start drafting by hand. I don’t know what it is, but if I try starting at the computer, it just doesn’t work for me. So I always start writing my book by hand and then gradually move onto the computer as I gain momentum, though I revert back to my notebook if I ever get stuck and work through everything on paper again. But for the most part, I use Scrivener and draft there on my laptop (and same with revising, though I will take notes by hand)!! 😀

8. Do you use imagery to help you when writing? Like pinterest, looking at a picture to get the feeling of it, etc?

Sort of… I love using Pinterest and I have such fun time pinning stuff to my millions of boards, but once I start the actual writing, I don’t look at my pins very often. I’m not sure why… Huh, maybe I should?? But I almost feel like pinning is part of my brainstorming and the things I do for between writing drafts to remind myself of what my vision is–or to help adjust, if my vision has changed since I started.

9. How did you choose the writing genre you’re writing in right now?

I’m not sure. YA was a no brainer because YA books are the books I connect to most. I don’t know what it is about it, but it has always been YA for me–no question. As for fantasy… I guess I’ve always loved fantasy, too, so it was just natural that my books would have weird magic and creatures and worlds. 😀

10. Are you a pantser or plotter? Are your first drafts messy?

I’m a plotter and YES!!!! My first drafts are messy. You’d think since I outline, they wouldn’t be so bad, but hahahahahahah, no. They’re terrible and a big ole mess. I do think they’ve gotten A LOT better since I started outlining, but overall, it’s still chaos and there’s sooooooo much to fix. Thank goodness for revisions 😉

Are you sick of questions yet??? Hahah, okay, bye!

Leave a Reply

