Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

CHECK IT OUT!!!! M’good friend Amanda was nice/awesome enough to nominate me for this award!!!! Aaah!! So much thanks to Amanda, who thought of me and my blog!!!

Woo, now for some rules!!!

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their site.
  2. Put the award logo on your blog.
  3. Answer the ten questions that you were given.
  4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. Nominate ten other blogs.

1. What is the best book you’ve read this year?? 

Thank you, Amanda, for this TORTUROUS question… I’ve read soooooo many good books this year!!! I can’t even begin to choose!!! But, I will try my best… My favorites of this year: Uprooted by Naomi Novik, The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh, A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas (just finished a few hours ago–aaaaaaah), The Lumatere Chronicles by Melina Marchetta. SUCH good books!! Read them alllllllll and you shall not regret it!!! 😉 (Hahah, okay, so I totally cheated, but whatever!! In my defense, I’ve been lucky enough to read so many good books this year!!)

2. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go first and why?

Ooh, this is another tough one… I’m a little torn… I went to Morocco a few years ago and am DYING to go back. It was so much fun and so beautiful there (though beware of people who will take advantage of unassuming tourists) and it’s one of my favorite favorite places I’ve ever been to!! Buuuuut… I also really want to go to Istanbul, Turkey. My parents went last year and were totally cruel to me. They were “Hey, Erin, wanna go Turkey?” and I was like “DUH, YES!” And then they were like. “…… Oh, well, sorry, we already bought the tickets.” Hahah, so yeah!!! Istanbul is pretty high on my list!! Can I cheat again and take a one super big trip to Morocco and Turkey?? (and then maybe stop in France and England on the way?? Haha, I’m soooo pushing my luck!) 🙂

3. When you write, do you outline first or just pants it? 

Ooh!! I love this question!!! I am an outliner!!! I outline my books before I write them (or I have been so far) and it’s helped me out a ton!! I sorta/kinda pantsed my first book that I wrote and it was chaos. So since then, I’ve taken to outlining (mainly because I get stressed out when I don’t know what’s happening and I have to make all these choices without knowing what the outcome will be)! I usually spend about a month or so, brainstorming/researching and soaking up creative goodness through tv, books, and anything else that comes to mind to come up with an outline and then it’s off to draft!!

4. When you aren’t reading/writing, what do you like to do?

Lots of things!! I love listening to music and, though I’m terrible, I like to play the piano and the guitar for fun. I also like watching tv (heheheheh) and going to the movies!!! And hiking!!! And working out and running (okay, only sometimes).

5. What tv show do you binge-watch?

Haaaaaa… More like what tv show do I NOT binge-watch!! If you guys know me, you know I am a tv fiend!! I’m somewhat picky about what I watch, but almost every time, it’ll end up going into a binge!! So, sitcoms are my absolute favorite and usually the ones I binge-watch including (are you ready?), Friends, The Office, Parks and Recreation, Selfie, Happy Endings, 30 Rock, and Arrested Development. And there is pretty much only ONE exception to sitcom-love and that is Sherlock!!! Love that show SO MUCH!!! And, I’ve been watching Avatar: The Last Airbender lately (and loving) after receiving THREE recommendations to watch it from my good friends!! (Janella, Christine, Amanda–I’m looking at you!!) I’m woefully behind on tv right now, but hopefully all will correct itself in the coming weeks/months!!

6. You can’t leave the house without _______?

Hahahaha, I kind of wanted to be a smart-aleck and say MY CAR KEYS. But I won’t (cause I don’t want to get internet slapped :)) Um… I don’t know. Because I’m lazy/ditzy, I usually just grab my keys and phone and take off. I guess it depends on where I’m going… And yeah, my phone is another obvious answer. But… I think I’m going go with my notebook and pen. I usually have a notebook with me that I use to write down all my crazy story ideas or brainstorm and research and which I also use to keep track of my word count goals and overall words that I’ve written!! Also, I write little journal entries in it from time to time!! 😀

7. Book or e-reader?

Pffffft!!! Books all the way!!! As much as I love my Kindle for its convenience, there is nothing better than a good solid book!! I looooooove seeing the fonts, the chapter headers (which by the way, you should totally check out Shadow and Bone–BEAUTIFUL!!), the pages, book cover, etc.

8. What cause/social issue do you care deeply about? 

Gun violence. I’m not that political (because the topic absolutely bores me, no offense) but one thing that I deeply care about is guns. There have just been so, so, so many terrible stories that have happened with guns, whether it’s a massacre like Aurora, or little kids accidentally shooting each other after they found a gun, but each one of those stories upsets me because I feel like there could be SO much done to prevent these kinds of things from happening–but they aren’t.

9. What magical/superpower would you pick?

OOH!!! I would want to be able to control time!! Speed it up, slow it down, pause it, etc! Wouldn’t that be awesome!??? Or I’d really like immortality. Haha, cliche, I know, but I always feel like there isn’t enough time in the world for everything that I want to do and I’m afraid that I’ll die before I get to do those things!! (Also, let’s be clear: I would want to stay young and immortal forever :))

10. What fun blogs have you found lately?

Hmm… I love reading blogs (especially writing ones), but I don’t know that I’ve happened upon new ones lately (must start blog searching once more, it seems!) But Syc from The Lit Mermaid has a great book blog and Mandy from The Romance Bookie is also another blog that I enjoy! (I don’t think I’ve ever said this before, but Mandy also posts my reviews on The Romance Bookie from time to time, too, if you ever want to check it out! :))

Yay!! Thanks again to Amanda for this awesome nomination!!! I genuinely had so much fun answering these questions!!! ;D 😀 😀

Now, for my nominees!!! Amanda has pretty much beaten me to all our writing friends (CURSE YOU AMANDA–ahahahah just kidding), so my list will be somewhat small!!! But here goes!

Michella Domenici

Laura Pohl

(Also, everyone go congratulate Mic, as she got into Pitch Wars!!!!! I’ve already said this, but CONGRATULATIONS, MIC, YOU’RE AMAZING!!!)

Aaaaand, for my questions!!!!

  1. If you could invite five writers (any kinds!) to a literary tea party, who would you choose and why? What foods would you serve?
  2. What 2016 (or Fall 2015) book are you anticipating most?
  3. When/how did you get into writing?
  4. What is your favorite season and why?
  5. Do you play music when you write? Or have a playlist for your stories?
  6. What’s your favorite Disney movie?
  7. If you could be anything, do anything in the world, what would you choose?
  8. What’s your favorite childhood picture book?
  9. If you could steal one person’s singing voice (kind of like Ursula), who would you choose?
  10. What’s a book that has made you cry?

All right, that’s it folks!! As always, thank you all for reading!!! 😀

2 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Leave a Reply

