Hi

Merrrrrrrhhhh, I know I already used this gif before (and I think that title, too), but I need it today, guys. All right, this is going to be a whiny post that has nothing to do with writing or reading or any of the fun stuff… (You’ve been warned)…

So remember how I needed to ask professors and some physical therapists for recommendation letters. Well, I finally sucked it up and sent some emails out. The good news is that my physical therapists and professor are willing to write me a letter of recommendation. The bad news…. MERHHHHH!!! I just got an email back from one of my professors and while she was totally willing to write me a letter, she also wanted to me give her my updated resume, a draft of my personal statement, and points that I want her to talk about me. MA;ASDFLKADSJFASDL;FAS!!! I hate this guys. Okay, the updated resume is fine, but UGHHHHH a personal statement???? And worst of all: things I want her to talk about me. WHY????? Ugh, this is so hard. I have NO idea what I want her to talk about. Like… I can’t even think of examples??? I’ve never seen a recommendation letter before. I don’t know what they’re like??? MEEEEEERRRRRRRRHHHHHHH. (I wasn’t kidding when I said I was going to be whiny). I think I might have to google some stuff to even figure out how I’m going to do this. And personal statement?? Okay, I don’t want to sound dumb to my professor, but WHAT IS A PERSONAL STATEMENT?? I’ve never had to write one before. I’ve seen them on businesses–like mission statements–but… I’m not in a business. Merh, I guess I’ll have to google that too. I don’t know, maybe I’m making this out to be harder than I need to, but I tend to stress the hardest when I don’t know what I’m supposed to be doing and right now I have no idea what I’m doing and everything seems soooooo hard…

I should have realized this was coming. One of my friends asked this professor for a recommendation letter a year or so ago when she was applying for study abroad and she was telling me about this. But I had completely forgotten that this could be a possibility until I got the email this morning. Bah!!! If I had known, I probably would have asked another professor, but I mean, I’ve taken the most classes from her, plus she was my advisor, so naturally, she was my first choice. Haha, is it too late to back out now and be like, oh, whoops I don’t need this anymore, bye. Sadly the answer is yes, plus that would make me look like an ingrate and rude.

So that’s what I’m going to be agonizing over this morning. I’ll try and get this over with so it’s off my chest and hopefully I am blowing this out of proportion and it’s actually really simple. Crossing my fingers.

Okay, now, the other thing that I’m stressing about. I went into work yesterday and my boss asked my to cover some of my coworker’s shifts, who is leaving, while they find her replacement. She offered me a raise and everything and since I need the money, I saw no reason to refuse. BUT THEN, after I agreed, I realized that I’M GOING ON VACATION TO EUROPE FOR TWO WEEKS!!! And it’s pretty much the days that my boss asked me to work. UGHHHH. I feel so bad right now because I told everyone that I could work and now I have to go back on my word. I texted my coworkers on the off chance that anyone of them can cover those days I’m going to be gone, but I have a feeling that it’s not going to work seeing as no one was able to take those shifts before. Also, I had to text my boss and tell her that I can work before and after I go on my vacation, but not during (obviously). I haven’t heard back from anybody yet, so now I feel like everyone at works hates me and is probably complaining about me behind my back. It really sucks though, because I HATE having to be so flaky. Ugh, next time, I just need to look at my calendar and really THINK about my other obligations before I say yes to anything. Bah, the messes I get myself into…

AND THEN, my coworker asked if I could work for her next Thursdays and I was like sure!!! Only to realize that the Sarah J Maas event is that evening. I mean, it’s not really a problem because I’m working 1-5pm and the event is at 6:30pm, but the thing is, I KNOW it’s going to be ridiculously crowded and I need to get there early. Luckily, work isn’t too far away from the bookstore, but I’d like to be there, by the latest, at 5:15 or so… I’m really hoping that I’ll be able to leave work right at 5, but who knows what’ll happen? Ideally, I’d like to leave work at around 4:45 or so, just in case there’s bad traffic or something (rush hour time). I don’t know what’ll happen though and that’s what making me nervous.

On another (less whiny) note, I learned that Sarah is only going to be signing three books per person (including Queen of Shadows), which I kind of knew to expect, so I’m not surprised, but still bummed considering I have seven books that I’d loooooove to be signed. So know I’m trying to decide which books I’m going to have signed. As of now, I’m thinking Heir of Fire and A Court of Thorns and Roses… I feel like I’m pretty set on those for now, but who knows? I might have a sudden change of heart. Maybe if I stand in line again, they’ll let me get more books signed? Do you think that’s a possibility?? Hahah, so maybe I should just take ALL my Sarah’s books and see what happens???

Well, I think that’s enough whining for one morning, right?? Sigh, I guess I better go write that personal statement and find things for my professor to talk about. I’M COUNTING ON YOU GOOGLE, DON’T LET ME DOWN NOW!!!!

Bye!!!!

2 thoughts on “Hi

  1. Amanda says:

    Ah, what a morning! Prefer for a long comment!

    This is all just a shot in the dark, BUT, I’d assume a personal statement is what you’re hoping to do with your future jobs/career in your field? Kind of what you’re all about, personally? And the talking point would just be what you need your adviser to vouch for with you, like your work ethic or your knowledge/experience or that she recommends you for XYZ – that sort of thing. She just wants to give you a good letter that will help you out. 🙂

    I totally sympathize with that work situation – that has happened to me before! People get over it though – they’ll be pissed for like 2 days and then it’s old news, seriously. I highly doubt you have a reputation for being unpleasant at work or something! So relax – at least you remembered right away and not just a couple days before.

    Finally, at the SJM event I went to, it was totally fine to bring more books and get back in line again for her to sign them. However….she takes such a long time that it’s hit or miss if you’ll make it up there again before the store closes, depending on the crowd. 🙂 She’ll totally spend 5-10 minutes talking to you though, so she’s super nice! Best of luck!! As for getting there early, can you get line tickets beforehand at all? Like here in Denver I’m getting mine Tuesday for Friday’s event, so I don’t *have* to show up super early, I assume. Check and see if you can get your line ticket with the book purchase on Tuesday! But otherwise, SJM makes sure to sign everybody’s books so even if you’re last you’ll still get to meet her!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. erinkbay says:

    Awwww!!! This is so nice!!! Thanks, Amanda!!!! You’re right on about the personal statement thing!! I looked into it and it’s basically why you want to become a physical therapist, blah blah blah. It sucks that I have to write a whole essay for it, but on the other hand, it just means I’ll have my essay done earlier than planned (since I have to write one anyway for the application itself). Dang, the talking points are harder though. I feel like I’m bragging about myself or something. Oh well, just another one of those SUCK IT UP moments! 😉

    Hahha, thanks for much for the reassurance!! It’s making me feel a lot better! I was like UH OH when I realized that the dates coincided! And you’re right! I’m sure people are pissed right now, but they’ll get over it and it’s not like I can do anything about it, so… TOO BAD FOLKS!!!

    OOOH!!!! I’m so glad to know this!!! Woo hoo!!! I guess I’ll just take all my books and see what happens!!! The event IS earlier than some of the other ones, so it is possible that I could get in another round of the line before the store closes! It turns out I have waaaay too many of her books (muahhaha). Yay!! I think I did get a ticket for the line, but the event itself gets really crowded and I want to get a good seat, so yeah… I guess I don’t need to get there early, but it’d be nice to, so I can see her and everything when she talks 🙂 Aaaah!!! I’m so excited though!!! I think her event in Denver is right after SLC, so we’ll see her right after one another!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

