The Ultimate Book Tag!!

Hi guys!

So guess what??!!! I got another book tag!! This time it’s The Ultimate Book Tag from Syc! She has an AMAZING book blog, The Lit Mermaid (which I’m super jealous of for not thinking of that awesome name/play on words myself and because she has a gorgeous website design!!) Everyone go check it out!

should be revising right now, but haha, a little bit of procrastination never hurt anybody, right??

Woo hoo!! Let’s do this!!

Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Unfortunately, yes… 😦 Our family used to take road trips a lot to Vegas or Los Angeles (which are long drives) and naturally, being a bookworm, I would read in the car. I didn’t realize that I was getting carsick because I was reading in the car. So I would keep reading and tell myself that the carsickness would go away if I concentrated on the book, not realizing I was exacerbating the problem. Haha, I actually did this same thing on a boat, too!! And OMG boats/seasickness is the worst guys!! I was reading the Bronte sisters at the time and oof, that was probably the worst bouts of seasicknesses I experienced. So… Long story short, yes!!

Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Hmm… This one is a hard one… The first author that came to mind was Maggie Stiefvater. I absolutely love all her books, especially the Raven Cycle. And the reason I thought of her is because she just has this very ethereal writing style… if that makes sense. She has this great humor and quirky writing style without coming off as super pretentious. I love it! I don’t think I could ever write like that, but it’s something I really admire!

And because I want to, I’m also going to say Melina Marchetta. I haven’t read any of her contemporaries (but I’m going to, I swear!) but her Lumatere series is incredible. I feel like it’s a very unique writing style for fantasy. She doesn’t write with lush descriptions and create large sweeping worlds and bloody battle scenes or anything like that and yet she has a completely believable and entrancing story that she’s created. I can’t get over this! She has a bare and raw type of writing that you usually see with contemporaries, but she’s translated it into high fantasy! UGHHHHHH, she’s amazing!!

Harry Potter or the Twilight Saga? Give three points to defend your answer.

I am so insulted by this question!!! No, no, no!!! OF COURSE HARRY POTTER!!! THERE IS NO OTHER ANSWER!!! Three points, I’ll give you three points!!! (Haha, I sound so angry and combative–but hey!! I’m am passionate about these things!!!)

1. HARRY POTTER

2. HARRY POTTER

3. HARRY POTTER

Do you smell your books?

No, but I’ll notice if there’s a weird smell on them. (I’m looking at you whoever sold me Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone!!!)

Books with or without little illustrations?

Erm, I don’t really care. They sure are pretty though. Unless it’s a picture book, then yes, I need illustrations.

What book did you love while reading but later discovered it wasn’t quality writing? 

Yeah, I’d probably have to go with Twilight here. To be honest, it doesn’t really bother me that it isn’t quality writing because, while writing is important, storytelling is a really big component of reading, too. So even though she may not have the most beautiful prose, you can’t deny that she told a great story that people wanted to read. Also, I don’t know why Stephenie Meyer gets so much flack for this. I mean, in my opinion, there are other very successful authors out there that don’t have “quality writing” (one that comes to mind, is James Patterson).

Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? 

Actually, I have one that happened yesterday!! In honor of Harry Potter and JK Rowling’s birthday, I posted this picture:

Screen Shot 2015-07-31 at 4.53.46 PM

And because I was so happy obsessed with the picture, I showed my brother to brag. And he was like “I DON’T UNDERSTAND WHY IS THE COVER ON THE LEFT SIDE??? IS IT A TRI-FOLD BOOK??”

Hahaha, it’s probably not funny to anyone else, but I laughed really hard!! Um and, by the way, I just put the cover on the left side, it is not a tri-fold book! (But how cool would that be???)

What is the tiniest book on your shelf?

Skinniest or smallest?? I’m going to with smallest. I can’t be sure because I haven’t measured, but I think it would be my copy of Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger.

What is the thickest book on your shelf?

Again, I have no idea, but I would guess… Maybe Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix? Or City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare? Or… Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas?? Well, one of those!

Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future being an author?

Why, yes I do write as well as read!! (As would be clear if you’ve read my blog 🙂 ) And I do see myself being an author in the future! Hopefully anyway! That’s the goal!

When did you get into reading?

Nine!! After I read A Wrinkle in Time! It’s funny because I think the reason that this book really got me to love reading is that I actually used to read a lot of contemporary books during my childhood. So books like Ruby Holler, Walk Two Moons, The View from Saturday (which, sorry, I thought was soooo boring and never got past the first few pages). And as you know, I’m a fantasy nerd! Not that these books were bad, but they just weren’t for me and because of that, I didn’t realize how much fun a book I truly enjoyed could be.

What is your favorite classic book?

Merhhh, this is another tough one because I love Jane Austen, but… I think I’m going to have to go with Jane Eyre. Jane Eyre is amazing!! I read this my freshman year in college during winter break. I decided to pick it up because the movie was out and I wanted to try and read the book before I saw it. I’ve NEVER had a classic book suck me in this much. I was so invested in Jane and Mr. Rochester and this is one of those books I am not able to put down. I reread it again last summer while I was in France and OMG same deal. Even though I’d already read it, I was so obsessed and I couldn’t stop reading.

I was so prepared not to like this book, seeing as other classics that I’d read never interested me that much (though I truly do want to like them), but I absolutely love Jane Eyre!!!

Oh fun fact!! I went to London last year and I got to see Charlotte Bronte’s original manuscript (well a couple pages of it) of Jane Eyre. It was amazing!! You could see where she crossed things out and revised things! It’s amazing!!

In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

No, I was brilliant at everything! Haha, just kidding! No seriously, just kidding!! Umm… I think so?? I got pretty decent grades in most of my classes, but I would English was the one that was easiest for me and the one that came the most naturally to me… So what I mean by that is… I didn’t have to study that much for the tests to get a good grade and the essays took a long time, but I did pretty well on them. Compare that to math, where I would study and still get an okay grade… So yeah maybe English was my best subject!

Eeee and confession: Haha, a lot of the times I wouldn’t do the reading for class… Hahahaa…

If you were given a book as present you had read before and hated, what would you do?

Chuck the book at them and tell them to get me a better present!! Haha, no… I would keep it. Probably shove it in a corner somewhere to get dusty.

What is a lesser known series you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or The Hunger Games?

Nothing, I repeat, nothing, is similar to Harry Potter!! Oh no, sorry guys, my aggressive/defensive side is coming out again. Umm… I don’t know… So I’m going to with an underrated book. Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund!! This book is amazing guys and I don’t know why, but it doesn’t get talked about enough!! It’s a sci-fantasy book that is super well done! It’s also a retelling of The Scarlet Pimpernel and it’s an excellent retelling!! Love it!!

What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

Well, yeah rambling would definitely be one. But other than that… I don’t know if this habit, but a lot of the times I accidentally press the “publish” button when I’m not ready and then freak out about it!! Haha!

What is your favorite word?

Ooh!! I have a lot!! I love words!! It usually changes every so often, but some that I like…

Snippy

Jargon

Serendipity

(Contrarily, word I hate: PURSE!)

Are you a nerd, dork, or a dweeb? Or all of the above?

I don’t know?? Probably all of them.

Vampires or Fairies? Why?

FAIRIES!! Except mermaids, they’re probably my favorite mythical creature. Plus, I put them in my book, so I better like them!

Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Angels, cause they have fluffy wings. Haha. I like the idea of them better than shapeshifters. Like heaven and hell, all that.

Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

I don’t know. They’re all the same to me.

Zombies or Vampires? Why?

I don’t know. I don’t really care for either. (Haha, can you tell I’m not that into paranormal??)

Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

I actually really like both. So either!

Full on romance books or action-packed with a few loves scenes mixed in?

It really depends on my mood, so I guess both. But I think I usually read action-packed with few loves scenes.

Okay, that’s it for that!! Woo hoo and I feel like I’ve been tagging way too many people lately, so I’m just going to tag anyone and everyone who wants to do this!!

Thanks and bye!! 😀

2 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag!!

  1. Syc | The Lit Mermaid says:

    Wow. You’re a raised contemporary reader. Maybe that’s the reason why you’re not much into paranormal stuff.
    Get over your jealousy, girl. I’m just kidding. ✌ You’re such a lovely person. Thank you for doing the tag and love your answers. 💛 💙 💜 💚

    Like

Leave a Reply

