Happy Birthday, Harry!

Okay, so I know I already posted today, but in my excited flailing, I forgot some very important things!! Like…

OMG IT’S HARRY POTTER AND JK ROWLING’S BIRTHDAY TODAY!!!

Screen Shot 2015-07-31 at 4.53.46 PM

“Born as the seventh month dies…” Happy Birthday to Ms JK Rowling and The Boy Who Lived.

So in honor of this fabulous day, I thought I’d share some of my favorite Harry Potter moments (some of which are very funny)!

1. Ron taking the OWLs in The Order of the Phoenix and this little scene ensues:

“Well, we were always going to fail that one,” said Ron gloomily as they ascended the marble staircase. He had just made Harry feel rather better by telling him how he had told the examiner in detail about the ugly man with a wart on his nose in his crystal ball, only to look up and realize he had been describing his examiner’s reflection.

-Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix 

I love this part so much!! I remember reading this! I was in the car and burst out laughing. Nonplussed, my mom and brother asked me what was so funny. I read them this scene, but they didn’t get it!! They didn’t think it was funny at all!! I think it’s hilarious!! I think about this scene from time to time and it totally cracks me up!!

2. When Ron comments on Hermione’s knitting: 

“They didn’t look anything like hats to me, more like woolly bladders.”

-Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Haha, oh my gosh!! I think this is SO FUNNY! I laugh every time I think of the word “woolly bladders” and I just love it! I also love how Hermione gets super mad afterward and doesn’t speak to Ron. Little things like that, I think, are hilarious! But this one in particular is one of my absolute favorites!

3. Luna’s portraits in her bedroom:

Luna had decorated her bedroom ceiling with five beautifully painted faces: Harry, Ron, Hermione, Ginny and Neville. They were not moving as the portraits at Hogwarts moved, but there was a certain magic about them all the same: Harry thought they breathed. What appeared to be fine golden chains wove around the pictures, linking them together, but after examining them for a minute or so, Harry realized that the chains were actually one word, repeated a thousand times in gold ink: friends… friends… friends…

-Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

I love this moment and reading this, I was just as touched as Harry when he sees these portraits and realizes how much Luna values their friendship.

4. Gilderoy Lockhart and the dueling club:

“Now, Harry,” said Lockhart. “When Draco points his wand at you, you do this.”

He raised his own wand, attempted a complicated sort of wiggling action, and dropped it. Snape smirked as Lockhart quickly picked it up, saying, “Whoops–my wand is a little overexcited–“

Snape moved closer to Malfoy, bent down, and whispered something in his ear. Malfoy smirked, too. Harry looked up nervously at Lockhart and said, “Professor, could you show me that blocking thing again?”

“Scared?” muttered Malfoy, so that Lockhart couldn’t hear him.

“You wish,” said Harry out of the corner of his mouth.

Lockhart cuffed Harry merrily on the shoulder. “Just do what I did, Harry!”

“What, drop my wand?”

-Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

I love this one! Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is probably the one I read most, alongside Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. Gilderoy Lockhart is also such a great character. I think he’s hilarious in the most despicable way and I admire so much how JK Rowling is able to take all her characters–even minor ones–and give them such depth and complexity.

5. Dumbledore’s last words to Harry:

“Tell me one last thing,” said Harry. “Is this real? Or has this been happening inside of my head?

Dumbledore beamed at him, and his voice sounded loud and strong in Harry’s ears even though the bright mist was descending again, obscuring his figure.

“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?”

-Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

This is probably my favorite line from the entire series! I remember reading this when I was 13, anxiously awaiting the answer to Harry’s question… And when Dumbledore answered with this, I was so struck! I thought it was brilliant–and it is! I don’t know how JK Rowling does it, but this is such a beautiful line and I feel like it completely ensconces Dumbledore’s character. Also, it’s such a great question! Why shouldn’t it be real?

So OF COURSE, there are many many more scenes and little snippets from Harry Potter that I adore. But I’ll stick to these five!

Random fact: I want, I think, seven different editions of Harry Potter. Is that too spooky?

The editions I do have right now are the US hardcovers (I had a set and then bought a new set a few months back) and I’ve ordered the UK hardcover editions as well!! I’ve wanted the UK editions for a long time now and last year I finally bunched up the nerve to buy them from Amazon UK only to find out that they are no longer in print!! So I’ve scoured the internet world to find them and hands down, Harry Potter is the most money I’ve ever paid for a book. But it’s worth because, well, it’s HARRY POTTER. Plus, my parents paid for half of it for my birthday, so that helped! There are also several more editions that I would love to have, but seeing as I’m broke for now, I’ll have to be patient and bide my time 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-07-31 at 4.55.00 PM photo-2

Aren’t they beautiful!! As you can see my UK editions are missing a couple of books because for some reason, I was sent the large print editions for The Chamber of Secrets and The Goblet of Fire. I’m a little bit peeved because they wrote “large print editions” on the description in very fine print and I didn’t realize until after that they weren’t the right editions. I mean, come on! If they’re large print editions, shouldn’t that be on the description page loud and clear? Ugh, anyways, I’ve got dispute/appeal/whatever and have them sent back (hopefully not on my dime though, cause I think it’s a bit unfair). I’m also peeved at Amazon UK cause The Order of the Phoenix got here in terrible shape. It’s got stains and rips and folds and I think I’m also going to dispute this because I paid a lot for these books guys! I’m not gonna go down without a fight this time! But I am SUPER happy with the others books that I did get and can’t wait to complete my collection.

There are also some great links I found that totally made me tear up! (I realize it sounds like a cry a lot according to my posts, but I’m actually more on the stoic side than anything…usually, hahah…). I’ll share them here, because I think they’re fabulous!! This one by USA Today has this incredible Harry Potter front page!! It’s so great guys!! And then I also read this one which talks about how amazing JK Rowling is and it could not be more true!!

Anyways, everyone have a great last day of July (and OMG can’t believe it’s already August!!)

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Harry!

  1. Caroline says:

    Hey I loved your post! I have the uk versions as im from the uk lol but the US ones look cool I havent seen them before! I remember queuing up at midnight to buy the later books as they came out did they do the same in the US? Lately I’m feeling super tempted to read them all again! Happy birthday Harrrrry hehe

    Like

    • erinkbay says:

      Aww, yay!! Thanks so much!!! The UK versions are awesome, but my favorite will always be the US ones cause they’re the ones I grew up with! Haha!!! Yes!! People did line up at midnight, I think! I was too young to have done that, but would have loved to!!! Eee!! And you should read them all again!! Haha, I literally cannot go a few months without reading a least a little piece of it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

