The Curse is Broken!!!

Yay!!! I broke the curse tonight!! I went to J.R. Johanssen’s book launch for her third book in the Nightwalker trilogy, Mania, and guess what?? My book event friend wasn’t there, which usually means I run into that one kid from high school, but lo and behold!!! The curse is broken!! Well, at least for now (I probably just jinxed it but that’s a problem for later!) I didn’t see anyone from high school!! And I run into a surprising number of people I knew from high school at the bookstore–most of time, I can get away with it though, since I don’t think they remember me! Yay!! (I sound like a lunatic, I know).

But I think that’s the thing about curses; they get you went you’re least expecting it. I mean, I was all prepared tonight to run into people from high school and… No one. Isn’t it Ender’s Game where Peter is being all threatening and saying how he’s going wait and wait and wait and just when they think the threat is over, he’s going to strike?? Well, that’s kind of how I think my curse works…

Anyways, in slighter more important/relevant/less weird news… I’m done re-outlining!!! WOO HOO!! I finished this past Wednesday and since then I’ve been taking a mini-break! And OMG I’ve read the MOST AMAZING books ever!!! I feel like I’m saying that a lot lately, but what can I say? 2015 has been a great year so far for books! I’ve read so many books that I’ve completely fallen in love with and the most recent two are Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. OMG they are both fabulous!!! I’m actually going to write up two separate posts on these books because, well, I’ve got waaaay too much to say about them and they’re sooooo awesome that they warrant their own post!!

I also watched Memento last night! And OMG if you guys haven’t seen Memento, YOU MUST!! Yes, that is an order!! It’s an AMAZING amazing amazing film. Christopher Nolan is a GENIUS. It’s crazy because every time–every time–I watch Memento, I am blown away. Every. Single. Time. I am a huge huge huge fan of Christopher Nolan (he’s my favorite film writer/director) and god, he’s BRILLIANT! Again, I’ll probably do a separate post on my love for Christopher Nolan and his films. But anyways, I ended up watching his movie because I actually have to write a paper on it for my Abnormal Psychology class. I basically finished that up today, but I’ll have to run through it a couple more times, because there are parts that I don’t like and I’ll probably just tighten things up, write the conclusion, and voila! be done with it! 😀 Also, I think I might watch Memento again tonight. Ugh, I can’t get enough!!!! Where’s Nolan’s next movie????

I’ve seriously been overloaded with such great stuff these last few days and I feel like I’m in this constant state of WOOOOAH OMG AAAAAH! But of course, that’s a really good thing, because that’s a rare thing. It doesn’t happen everyday and it’s makes me so so happy when it does!! It’s absolutely the best feeling in the world!!

And to top it all off, guess what I saw on Twitter today??? *drum roll please*!!….

Screen Shot 2015-07-17 at 8.47.51 PM

ISN’T IT GORGEOUS??? I’m drooling!! I had a freakout session earlier with one of my friends (Hi, Amanda!!!) and now I just have the worst craving ever for this book!! I mean–LOOK HOW BEAUTIFUL?? And it’s so big!! (I love me some big books!! :)) In a somewhat disappointing story, I showed my mom this picture and she was thoroughly unimpressed. She is totally not into the fantasy genre so she totally doesn’t get it. Her loss, AM I RIGHT??? Hahah, so yeah, I showed her this picture, she told me it looked too dark, I told her it was dark, she said dark books were ugh, and then I said dark books are the best, blah, blah blah! 🙂 Come on, we all know I’M right!!!

Aaaaand, last thing for today… So I’m officially starting my revisions tomorrow! EEEEEEE!! As excited as I am to actually get into writing this thing and implementing all my new ideas that I looooove, I can’t help but be a little nervous. It’s weird, when I was outlining, all I wanted to do was start writing, but now, it’s starting to feel a little intimidating. But I really am excited for this and talking about it has actually amped me up again (yay!) I really do think my new changes are going to make this book 1000000x better and already, I love the new stuff I’ve put into it and it feels a lot less crappy now. Soooo, I guess I’ve gotta take the next step and actually make those changes! I’m not really sure what my daily goals are going to be for revisions, since I don’t know what speed I work at and how much is really possible for me, but considering I have to rewrite a whole lot of my story, I think it might be reasonable to stick to a word count goal for some and maybe a couple of chapter goals?? I’m not really sure at this point. I guess I’ll figure it out as I go!!!

Well, that’s all I got for you guys today!! As always, thanks for reading through my incessant rambling!! 🙂 Have a good Friday!!

4 thoughts on “The Curse is Broken!!!

  1. Amanda says:

    You are reading such good stuff!!!! I’m posting my review of The Wrath and the Dawn tomorrow!! And I love Fangirl, so much of my Harry Potter-filled childhood is in that book! I can’t believe Queen of Shadows is finally coming out soon-ish! For so long it’s been so far away I try not to even think about it, but now it can be on my real book calendar radar, eep! And by the way I have found a chapters/day or week goal to be helpful with revisions, because you never know how much is going to be re-written, so word count goals can sometimes leave you feeling like you haven’t done anything all day, which is not true, so your plan is a good one. 🙂

    Like

    • erinkbay says:

      OMG AMANDA I AM SO OBSESSED WITH WRATH!!! I feel fickle cause I was just obsessing over Uprooted, but THIS BOOK!!! Can’t wait to see your review tomorrow!!! And Fangirl was awesome because that was basically my college life and yeah, all that Harry Potter love ❤ !!! I know! I can't believe how fast time has gone!! It's less than two months before QOS comes out!! That's a little unbelievable (but good!) Woo hoo! That does it!! I'll have to use chapter goals then!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

