Update: June/July!

Why hello there!

I figured it was time for a post because a) I felt like posting something (which is always a good reason to post something) and b) It’s time for another update! (I guess). Also, I realize I didn’t do a June update post, but that’s really because I was posting often enough that I felt like another post would be OVERKILL. You’re probably all sick of me anyways! 😀

What I’m Writing:

Or I guess, what the better statement would be: What am I NOT writing. I’m finally into revising mode!! Which is super cool because I’ve never really revised before! I recently read through my Faerie Story (which is disgustingly awful by the way :)) and for the past week or so, I’ve been brainstorming and re-outlining my story! I’m actually really excited! One of my awesome CPs gave me THE BEST idea ever and I’m super excited to implement it into my story! It’s going to take a lot of rewriting and reworking stuff, but it’s gonna be so much cooler than what I’d originally had! So that’s what I’m working on now–reworking this awesome new idea into my story! Thank goodness for CPs and revising, huh? So, yup, that’s what I’ve been working on and will probably be working on for the next couple o’ months.

What I’m Reading:

Do you even have to ask????? Doi! Uprooted!! Oh my times a thousand! This is such an amazing book! I love it so much!! I’ve talked about it a billion times already, but if you’ve read (WHICH YOU ALL SHOULD!) you’ll understand!! It’s AMAHHHHHZING! (As you know) I’ve been shoving it relentlessly up people’s faces, demanding they read it (Note: I told my friend to read it and she did and she loved it! So, if that doesn’t convince you… FOR SHAME!!)! And I wouldn’t put it past me to start going to the bookstore and force feeding it to innocent customers as well–IT’S THAT GOOD! Anyways….

Fire!! OMG, I forgot how much I loved this book and Kristin Cashore! Despite the many many books I have yet to read, I finally gave into the impossible urge to re-read this book! I love this book so much! This is another one of those books where if you haven’t read it–WELL WHY NOT??? I DON’T UNDERSTAND YOU?? It’s beautifully written and the story is so engrossing! One of my all time favorite books! 🙂

My Current Music Obsession:

Does anybody else love Big Bang and/or G-Dragon? Okay, I admit, I haven’t really listened to them a lot (UM, actually, I don’t listen to k-pop really at all), but I recently saw some interviews/tv shows they did and OMG I’m in love! They are truly talented (and super funny too!) There are tons of k-pop boy band and girl bands out there, but Big Bang just sweeps them off the floor (no offense ;)). Holy crap–I saw their performance on Infinite Challenge (does anybody watch that???) and OMG. They’re so good. They are so good. So, now my entire family is obsessed and we’re going to order some CDs, but in the meantime, we’ve just been listening/watching online and this song happened to be stuck in my head all day today….

Also, I’ve been on a Disney/Musical kick. To be honest, when am I not on a Disney/Musical kick? But it’s stronger now than ever!! I listened to this one on repeat for a loooong time while I was drafting my Beauty and the Beast retelling! Love it!!

And I’m pretty much over-the-moon obsessed with this song and Lea Salonga. I listened to it constantly while I was in Mexico and the obsession has not ceased. It actually matches up perfectly with one of my story ideas/characters and Lea Salonga’s voice literally brings me to tears. She’s amazing! I’ve been planning on a post dedicated to her entirely, so, look out! Anyways, this song is beautiful! It kills me every time I hear it! I actually bought the sheet music and am attempting to play it on the piano (and guitar). I’m really bad at piano despite my years and years of lessons, but apparently enough of it stuck for me to be able to play a little bit! So doing that in my free time here and there!

Okay! Last one, I swear!! I’ve been belting out my Phantom of the Opera because it’s super fun and also the music is devastatingly gorgeous! Andrew Lloyd Webber is a genius! Plus, that story!!! I’ve known the music for years, but I finally got to watch it in London last summer and OMG the obsession has only grown stronger! When the music came on in the theatre, I remember crying because it was so powerful (wow, I talk about crying a lot, but it doesn’t really occur that often….) There are so many great songs from Phantom, but I’ll stop here (because seriously, I won’t be able to stop!) And again, Phantom has soooo many songs that have sparked ideas here and there and I. Just. Can’t. Stop.

(And yes: I totally do sing to this (or try to anyway))

What I’m Watching:

Pft! Wanna take a guess??… YUP, FRIENDS!!!! In my defense, I did watch 30 Rock throughout June and I am rewatching Arrested Development as well, but somehow I circled back to Friends, which is weird because I really thought I was done! Obviously not! 😉 Also, one of my favorite quotes EVER!!

What’s Happening:

So I went hiking on Saturday, aka the Fourth of July, and I came back like this:

The hike itself was beautiful, but I now have the worst sunburn in the history of the universe, I’m so sore–I literally felt like one wrong move and my entire body would go into spasm, ahahah–and to top it all of, I strained my hip flexors!

Also, the trail I went on was labeled as “moderate”. UM, NO. The whole thing took about five and a half hours! We (my friend and I) were an hour and a half way up, when we found out that we had another hour to go. I almost cried! And then the way back down took forever too cause my hip flexors were hurting so bad and it was probably then where I was literally almost cried and was basically swearing every foul thing that ever existed in my head. My poor friend that was with me had to wait for me every few hundred feet, but I’m infinitely grateful she was so patient and nice and I wouldn’t be surprised if she never wanted to go hiking with me again!

But good news! I can walk somewhat normally again!! Steps are still sort of hard, but I think they should be okay in the next day or two. My sunburn still hurts the crap out of everything, but I think it’s getting better (hopefully, anyway). I also feel like this is karma, because I remember slapping my friends who had really bad sunburns and then laughing… Hhaaaa, they were much nicer because if someone were to slap me now, I would punch them in the face without remorse (I’m starting to see where the karma thing is kicking in). Okay, I’ve complained enough! Here are some pretty pictures to end this long long post!

Screen Shot 2015-07-06 at 7.52.48 PM  Screen Shot 2015-07-06 at 7.54.03 PM

Okay, thanks for reading!! 😀

7 thoughts on “Update: June/July!

  1. brittanysbookrambles says:

    This is awesome! I’m pretty much always obsessing over Friends, and I’ve been on a crazy Disney kick since getting home from Disney World the other day =D Oh, and I absolutely adore Lea Salonga–she’s amazing ❤

    Like

    • erinkbay says:

      OMG I’m talking to so many people these days with Lea Salonga obsessions!! How have I not known before??? She amahzing! Ugh, and Disney!! There’s nothing more I can say! :)) Pft, and I *think* you might already know my Friends obsession is OFF THE HOOK! Hahaha!!

      Like

  2. Amanda says:

    Glad you survived the hike, it looks so beautiful!!! I love Fire, and I’m so frustrated that Uprooted is taking so long at my library – it’s the first thing I’m going to check out after we move! I’d probably just buy it, but all my book boxes (all 8 of them…) are packed already and that alone is driving me crazy!

    Like

    • erinkbay says:

      Aaah! That’s my biggest fear about moving–MY BOOKS! Hahah!! I love that you have eight! But yay!!! I’m so excited for you to read it! It’s gonna be amazing!!! And definitely worth buying if it turns out the library takes too long!! And ugh, Fire/Kristin Cashore–so gorgeous!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. janellaa says:

    OMG I HAVE SO MANY THINGS TO SAY ABOUT THIS POST:
    -Good luck revising, you’re going to totally ROCK IT!!!
    -Ahhhh, I just got Uprooted in the mail—can’t wait to start it due to your glowing recommendation 🙂
    -AHHHHH I love Fire!! I think it may be my favorite book within that world! Brigan is my boo ❤
    – DISNEYYYY! I Can Go the Distance is probably at the top of my motivation playlist, always makes me shed some major tears!
    -LEAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!! ❤ ❤
    -PHANTOMMMMMM!!!!!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤
    -your nature pics are so pretty!
    Okay, I'm done. Overall, your post made me feel a lot of things 😛

    Like

    • erinkbay says:

      FIRE IS totally my favorite, too!!! That Brigan… God, I love him! It’s been a while since I’ve read Graceling and Bitterblue though, so I might be revisiting those as well 😀 OMG I’M SO EXCITED YOU GOT UPROOTED!!! SO SO SO EXCITED!!! I hope you read it immediately and then fall in love with it!! And YES to everything you said!!! But ooh, I Can Go the Distance is so good. Have you heard the Michael Bolton version? It’s longer, I think, so I need to look it up sometime. Anyways, thanks for all your feels and luck!! Oof, time to get back to re-outlining/brainstorming!! :)))

      Like

Leave a Reply

