Bafflement

Hi guys!

Um, so I finished Mystic and Rider today… And I’m… baffled.

My ballet teacher used to say, “If you can’t dazzle them with your brilliance, baffle them with your bullish*t.”

Baffling might work in dance, but I’m not so sure with books. I feel very confused and unsettled right now. Haha. It’s not that Mystic and Rider was a bad book–I’m not angry with it or mad at it–but I do have a couple of things I want to say about it.

1. It was kind of boring. Aaah, I hate saying that, but it was. It’s quiet fantasy and it turns out there aren’t a lot of quiet fantasies for a reason… Honestly, I feel like nothing happened in this book. Senneth and the group travels–and that’s really all they do. I felt no tension, no anxiety, no nail-biting during any part of the story, even during what should have been the tension-inducing events.

2. I didn’t connect to any of the characters. They all seemed kind of bland to me. I didn’t hate any of them, which is good, but neither did I feel love–or even–like for any of them. They were kind of just… There. Aaand, I didn’t feel any of the romantic pull/tension between Senneth and Tayse, which was kind of disappointing.

3. The book had no climax. This is the most baffling thing of all. Let me say it again: This book had no climax. Does that sound weird to you? Because it’s REALLY weird to me. After I finished the book, I went online to Amazon to see what other people thought in their reviews, and the one that struck me most was that said that the book was “episodic”. And that’s the perfect description for this book. It’s more like a compilation of events. Seriously. They get to the end of their journey and then… That’s it! The end! Bye! Which is what led me to this state of intense bafflement 🙂

That said, I am going to continue reading the series. I looked up the synopsis for the second book, The Thirteenth House, and it sounds very promising!! I am crossing my fingers (and toes and eyes and everything else that can be crossed) that I’ll get more sucked in to the second one!

And confession: I have to say that I was so so grateful and relieved to find out that The Thirteenth House was a companion novel. Otherwise, I can’t say that I would have continued reading, which would have been a real shame because impatient me decided to order the entire series (with my ever-dwindling pocket of money).

All righty! I’m off to watch some Netflix! I’ll see ya guys later! 🙂

Leave a Reply

