New Reads and the Weekend

Hi guys!!

I hope everyone had a good weekend! I had a pretty good one myself! It’s weird, but all of my events always seem to pile up in one single day… Seriously, I will have nothing to do for months on end and then BAM! a bunch of stuff to do on the same day! And that’s pretty much what happened this Saturday!

But it was a ton of fun! I got to hang out with my friends who I hadn’t seen in a couple of months and a friend/acquaintance that I hadn’t seen since I graduated high school! And by the way–one of my close friends is getting married!!! OMG! I’m really happy for her, but I’m also like aaaaaaah!!!! Cause it really does seem like we just left high school.

Then later that day, I got to go up to Park City and enjoy the Savor the Summit festival thing they had going on up there. My uncle owns a Thai restaurant there, which I loooooove! The food was amahzing–plus, I got to see my cousin! (Haha, should those two things be switched??)

Screen Shot 2015-06-21 at 7.56.22 PM  Screen Shot 2015-06-21 at 7.56.44 PM

(Isn’t it beautiful? The weather was perfect and it was such a fun atmosphere! And purple sticky rice is one of my favorite desserts ever! So good guys!)

Other than that, my week was rather simple. I’ve been spending a lot of time reading and “recharging” I suppose. It’s been really nice because I was getting super dead from all that intense writing, but… Honestly, I’m kind of bored without it… I’ve really just been lazing around for days and rolling here and there. I was thinking about taking this next week off, too, and getting started with revisions this coming weekend, but we’ll see how that pans out. I may or may not get started brainstorming my new project ;), though I certainly won’t be able to fully work on it until after I finish my revisions.

Anyways, I read The Lumatere Chronicles by Melina Marchetta and UGGGGGHHHHHH!!!! These books are brilliant! They are so good!!! I had been hearing about Finnikin of the Rock for AGES now and for some reason I never really got around to them. But, I think I read about half of Finnikin and immediately ordered the rest! They came yesterday and look how beautiful!!!

photo-5

They are fabulous! I am a huge of Melina Marchetta now! I am beyond awed at how she can write both high fantasy and contemporaries so well (although I have yet to read her contemporary works–but I’m sure they’re infinitely amazing!)

I did think her style of writing was very different from a lot of fantasies I’ve read. She has this kind of bare and raw type of writing with much less description than I’m used to (kind of more reminiscent of contemporary works) and while I don’t think I could ever write in that style (I love my description too much), it’s brilliant and powerful! She’s a master!!!!

[Side Note: Hahaha, whenever I say/hear the words “He/She’s a master!”, I think of Buster saying that about Barry!! Hahaha! Anyone else? Just me, okay! I tried to find a gif for it, but I think the joke might be too vague to be gif-mentionable :)]

Anywayyyys… Although the books cover lots of dark and serious material, I found myself laughing at a lot of the bits of dialogue. Melina Marchetta creates amazing, amazing, real characters. Nothing about them rang false (which I hate) and the dialogue… Wow.

One of my favorite things about these books is that they carry so much subtlety. So many things are implied but not directly told to the reader, which I LOVE. I love that so many things happen under the surface and you’ve got to really pay attention. It’s probable that you could miss a lot of things, but I love love love that you have to connect the dots yourself to fully realize what’s happening, instead of the author kind of spoon-feeding you everything and I love that Melina Marchetta trusted her readers to do that. It’s AWESOME! Genius!

While I loved Finnikin, I think I may like Froi of the Exiles and Quintana of Charyn best. They’re so good, they’re so good. By the way, Finnikin reads like a standalone while Froi and Quintana are definitely a series of their own and a companion series to Finnikin.

Quintana was the most tension-filled, most dramatic of all three and so much fun to read. There is just so much tension and conflict; I feel like Melina Marchetta just pulled out all the stops in this last book!

And with both Froi and Quintana (and Finnikin, too), the relationships were so good. Not just the romantic ones, but the ties between father and son, a leader and his/her people, friend and friend! Melina Marchetta is a master (haha) of character and relationships! And…

 

*****HUGE SPOILER ALERT. LOOK AWAY NOW IF YOU HAVEN’T READ FROI!!!!*****

 

.

..

….

…..

……

…….

I especially loved the relationship between Gargarin and Froi. I loved how they stayed true to their characters, but still grew and found a way to love each other. And to be honest, I don’t usually connect with parent to child relationships that much, but ugh, Melina Marchetta… I loved everything about it.

…….

……

…..

….

..

.

 

*****HUGE SPOILER ALERT OVER*****

 

Well, I could ramble on and on, but I’ll stop while I can! And I just realized I haven’t posted any music in a long time, sooooo, here is one of my favorite songs ever! I listen to this on repeat constantly! Love it!! It comes on during Pilates sometimes and it makes me happy!

(I also have an unhealthy obsessions with the stars and moon, so bonus!)

Let’s see… I think I might watch The Emperor’s New Groove tonight. It’s on Netflix and aaaah, so hilarious! David Spade!!! Reading-wise, I think I’ll be picking up Mystic and Rider by Sharon Shinn next! So excited!

All right, see ya guys later! Thanks for reading (this super long post)! 😀

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Reads and the Weekend

  1. janellaa says:

    Oh my goodness all of your book posts have seriously just been making me go YESSSSSS! I’m SO glad you devoured the Lumatere Chronicles and I definitely agree with you on your points—Froi and Quintana were my faves too (hello emotional roller coaster), but Finnikin was fantastic as well! Ahhhh and your spoiler was MY favorite too–definitely one of the biggest highlights for me throughout the series was their development!!! Eeek, now you’ve got me all in the Lumatere feels again, I must have my own copies. Now you MUST read Melina’s contemporaries—Saving Francesca, Jellicoe Road, and Looking for Alibrandi are all so so amazing!

    Like

    • erinkbay says:

      Hahah!! Yay! JANELLA APPROVED!! (We need a sticker!) YESSSSS BUY THEM BUY MORE BOOKS!!! *golem voice* Ugh, they’re so beautiful! Yes! I can’t wait to read her contemporaries!! They sound INTENSE!!! :))))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

