A Perfectly Reasonable Book Haul and Intense Obsession with Uprooted

Guess what, guys??

I didn’t forget to go to class today!! Woo hoo!! Haha, that really shouldn’t be that big a deal, but still… ๐Ÿ™‚

Class was good! We went through some of the definitions of what abnormal psychology is and a whole bunch of introductory stuff, but I think it’ll be a good class. I’m really looking forward to it actually and the entire subject is really interesting to me, so good sign, right? Plus, I’ll be trying to look for ways I can implement these new concepts and things I learn into my writing, so that’s a bonus! ๐Ÿ˜€

Anyways, this weekend I went to my lovely independent bookshop and ended up getting a crapload of new books! I really shouldn’t have spent that much considering I’m basically broke (ah!), but apparently I have no self-control! In my defense, they were having their semi-annual sale, which is SUCH a great deal! Seriously, it’s like 30% off hardcovers; 40% off if you buy three or more–which I totally did. See what temptations I had to deal with???

And on top of all that goodness, I went to Costco, where it turned out new awesome books had come in. And I cannot resist buying books from Costco because they’re so cheap!

So, in essence, this is what happened….

photo-4

Yup… That’s right, thirteen books in one weekend… Eh! Worse things have happened! ๐Ÿ˜€

I got theย Mistborn Trilogy,ย P.S. I Still Love You;ย Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend;ย Revenge, Ice Cream, and Other Things Best Served Cold at Costco (woah, long titles) andย Uprooted,ย The Invasion of the Tearling, The Princess Bride, Prudence, Madame Bovary, Anna Karenina,andย A Thousand and One Nights at my local bookstore!

And MY GOODNESS PEOPLE!!! You absolutely MUST readย Uprooted by Naomi Novik! HOLY COW! I started this book last night and I’m only on Chapter Three, but it is SO GOOD! It’s really rare that a book hooks me from that early on, but I’m so in love with this book already! Omg, I cannot get over how beautifulย Uprooted is!!

I grabbed it because I’ve been hearing so many good things about it and considering I am one huge fan of fairytales/retellings, I decided I would buy it. UGGHHHHHH, it was such a good decision!! One of the ladies that works there was telling me she loved it and she was right!

It reminds me ofย Robin McKinley’sย Beauty, but… I think might even likeย Uprooted even more! It’s got that same gorgeous style of writing and storytelling… I just can’t explain to you how much I love this book! I’m so excited to see what happens and for sure, I’m going to be buying all of Naomi Novik’s books!!!

So takeaway from this post: BUY UPROOTED IMMEDIATELY AND READ SO THAT I MAY HAVE SOMEONE TO OBSESS OVER IT WITH!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Okay, Erin out!

Thanks for reading!! :)))

7 thoughts on “A Perfectly Reasonable Book Haul and Intense Obsession with Uprooted

  1. erinkbay says:

    Omg!!! I need to read it!! I love the movie though and the cashier lady was telling me the movie was a pretty good adaptation!!! I can’t wait!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ (Also, I think the book is so beautiful, I keep looking at it!)

    Like

  2. Erika says:

    The Princess Bride is great! Some people say that the movie adaptation was better, but I haven’t watched it so I can’t say I agree. However the book is not a disappointment!!

    I love those editions that you have of Anna Karenina, Madame Bovary, and A Thousand And One Nights. I’ve wanted some books in those particular edition. I’m sure they look so great on your shelf!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • erinkbay says:

      Aaah!! So good to hear!! I’m really excited to read it! And the movie is awesome!!! I would definitely recommend it!! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Thanks so much!! Aren’t they beautiful?? They’re the Penguin Classics and I’m super excited to be able to add them to my collection I’ve got going on :))) !!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

