Stick a Fork in Me…

… I’m done.

(Or if you’re a vegetarian… Eat me! I’m done!)

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.07.56 PM

Yep, that’s right. DONE!!! I’m done with my first draft of my Beauty and the Beast retelling!!! I finished last night and it ended up clocking in at about 100k!! (It was actually probably a couple thousands words below that cause it turns out that there was some stuff that I took out that got added to the compile list, but because I have this insane desire/obsessive need to have my manuscript be 100k and not a word under, I didn’t take it back out! I know, it’s weird.) It’s good timing too because I’m taking a summer class that starts next Monday. It’s Abnormal Psychology and part of me is afraid that I’ll forget to go to class on Monday. This happens a lot to me and I’ll actually get stress dreams where I either sleep in late and miss class or just forget about it. It’s actually kind of funny once I wake up. Anyways, anyone take Abnormal? Everyone I’ve talked to says they liked it and said it wasn’t that bad, so I’m looking forward to it a lot actually considering there are a lot of interesting topics. Oh, boy, I digress….

But I’m done and I’m super excited! The draft is basic complete crap if you think about it; there are so many things to fix and so much not-good stuff, but I’m still happy. I already know that I’m going to really work the beginning and the end in revisions and smooth/streamline stuff in the middle. And I know that something I’m going to have to look for when I go back, is to make sure that my main character doesn’t annoy me cause I kind of got the feeling that when I was writing, she was kind of dramatic and a back and forth a lot and I’ve definitely read books where I’m annoyed cause the character keeps making decisions that go against themselves and all that–so definitely something to watch for. ButΒ we’ll see how I feel about her once I read through it, which probably won’t be for a few months because I’m going to go back to my manuscript that I finished in March and I’m going to start revising there. It’ll be weird to go back and I’m pretty scared of revisions. It’s just kind of overwhelming to think about all the stuff I have to fix and I’m likeΒ how?? Tell me?? But I think (hope) it’ll work itself out when I’m actually going through the process! πŸ™‚

Now that I’m done, I think I might take a week or two off and just binge watch/read the crap out of anything! I’ve been hearing about a lot of great tv shows, so I’m definitely going to watch those (If you have recommendations, TELL ME! :)). I’m thinking about watching Daredevil? Or maybeΒ The 100? I’m having a hard time choosing.

I will also be binge reading a bunch of stuff (again, if you have recommendations! :)). I still have a lot of stuff from the library I haven’t gotten to, so those will probably be the first things to go to! I’m readingΒ ShutterΒ by Courtney Alameda right now, but I think after I’m going to be readingΒ Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee. I got that at the library ages ago and still haven’t gotten around to it.

All righty, I’m going to go laze around all day now! πŸ˜‰ And since I promised, I’ll post Part 2 of my LDStorymakers Recap later today (so you’ll definitely get sick o’ me)!

Bye! :)))

Leave a Reply

