Random Things

Why, hello, there….

First of all–a lesson in karma. I went to Whole Foods today to get a fruit tart (YUM!) and I passed by the candy station. I found one of those peach ring things and I ate one to “sample” and it turned out it wasn’t the Trolli goodness I was expecting. It wasn’t terrible, but it definitely wasn’t good–it tasted kind of like those orange gummy slices, which I DO NOT like … So I learned my lesson…

So I just got this super cool idea for a new story!! It’s kind of like this Mulan/Anastasia mash up thing. I don’t really know what’s going to happen, but I’m so excited for it! Hopefully, it’ll stick around and won’t be one of those passing fancies. I’ve been watching a lot of Disney movies lately (cause they’re awesome and why not? BAM!) and it’s really been helping me with ideas for what I might want to do with this next story. No surprise, I watched Mulan and Anastasia.

Side note: Man, I love Mulan. I mean like love love love it! I didn’t like it that much as a kid, but holy crap! It’s so funny!!! I mean laugh your pants off hilarious!! Ugh, I love it so much!! It’s definitely one of my favorite Disney movies ever.

I watched The Lion King today–for the first time in probably… I don’t know… Maybe ten? Fifteen years? It’s been a while. But OMG I forgot how good it is!!! I was listening to Can You Feel the Love Tonight? and it totally resonated with this new idea. This one line actually…

Why won’t he be the king I know he is, the king I see inside.

So naturally, I watched The Lion King as soon as I got home. And woah. I’m just stunned. It’s such a powerful movie. So much epic and so much resonance. I actually kept tearing up every time I thought about Mufasa (I’m literally tearing up right now!) and whenever that music came on. Geez… I love that movie so much! It’s so so good. So much good story! It’s definitely going to be a huge inspiration for this new idea.

And it’s kind of cool to see that Anastasia and The Lion King actually have a lot in common–lost heirs to the throne reclaiming their kingdom/finding out who they really are.

The only major problem I’ve been having is that one big part is sounding awfully like Throne of Glass, which I love and stuff, but I definitely don’t want to copy someone else’s idea, much less Sarah J. Maas’s. But I don’t know… Truth be told, lost heirs reclaiming their throne is a pretty established journey already, so I feel like it wouldn’t be so bad if I did something similar, but then again, like I said, I don’t want to feel like I’m copying someone else, cause then it doesn’t feel genuine… I don’t know. I’m trying to find out how my story would be different or if I really love that story arc enough to use it… (which, right now, I think I do). I guess I’ll let it stew some more.

I’m also watching Stardust right now, which also happens to be one of my favorite movies! And again feeling all inspired and everything. I just think it’s such a great story that meshes three major storylines into this one epic conclusion. I read the book a long time ago, but after seeing that Neil Gaiman speech, I think it’s time to reread it! I don’t remember anything from the book, so it’ll be like a fresh new story!

Another thing! I was planning on going to San Fransisco later this month for ALA, but it turns out that’s not going to pan out. Blerg. I’m pretty disappointed, but I’ll get over it! I guess I’ll just have to find an ARC of Truthwitch somewhere else. *SIGH* :)))

Okay, I guess that’s it for now. Ooh, but before I go, I’ll leave this hilarious scene from The Lion King at your disposal! OMG, I laughed so hard at this part!! OMG SO FUNNY!!!!

Ugh, The Lion King. My renewed love for it can know no bounds.

(By the way, the Mufasa shuddering part was what cracked me up so hard!! Hahaha!! I love that scene!!!!!)

Thanks for reading! 😀

Leave a Reply

