Books I’ve Been Reading!

Hello everyone! I’ve been reading a lot of super good books lately and so I thought I’d share! :)))

Sooo, some awesome books that I’ve been reading!

Daughter of the Blood / The Black Jewels Series by Anne Bishop

WOW! I cannot believe how obsessed I’ve become with these books!! I picked this one up because it was recommended by Sarah J. Maas on twitter and on her website! But considering that it was an adult book, I wasn’t convinced that I’d love it, but I thought I’d give it a try, so I picked it up from my library and I’m so glad I did!

I’ll admit, through the first half to two-thirds of Daughter of the Blood, I was kind of bored–mainly with how I couldn’t see how the story was unfolding and where it was leading–it was feeling a lot like just set up, which is definitely needed for fantasy, but I mean, I read like half the book without too much crazy happening…. I was seriously considering giving up on reading and at one point, I think I did decide to stop, but for some reason, I picked it back up again. And woah! It suddenly got super super interesting! I had so much fun reading and I literally could not stop reading! So naturally, I blew through the rest of trilogy!! And ugh, I’m so obsesssssssed!! And the second and third books were definitely good too, and it was a faster read for me because I was already invested in the story and the characters!

The fourth book (The Invisible Ring) in the series is a companion/prequel novel and that one was good, too. You get to see some characters from the trilogy and get to know a little bit more backstory! Anyways, also good and worth reading! I’m on the fifth book, I think, Dreams Made Flesh, which apparently is a series of four (?) novellas all bound up together. I’m not far yet, but I’m sure I can expect the same amount of awesomeness from this book as well!

(Woah, that was long…. O_O)

Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry

Aaaaah!!! So on May 26th, I had this itching feeling that it was an important date for some reason, but I couldn’t remember why… But then! I realized it’s because Nowhere But Here was coming out!

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before (probably) but because, apparently, I love repeating myself several times, I’m going to say it again. I’m not a huge fan of contemporary–nothing personal, just not really my genre. I’ve always been more a fantasy nerd. Butttt, lately I have grown to like contemporaries just a bit more! And Katie McGarry happens to be one of my favorites! Her Pushing the Limits series is super good and she has those books where it just sucks you in and you can’t stop reading!

Anyways, I loved Nowhere But Here! I still think I like her Pushing the Limits series a tad more, but this is still a great great series! What I like about Katie McGarry is that she write about interesting topics/unique things in her books, at least in my opinion. I mean, motorcycle gangs! How cool is that? And while she does write less “unique” stories, her writing is really good and since she mixes it up with more atypical contemporary subjects, that I love each and every one of her books! A good book is a good book, right?

(Ugh…. Does that even make sense? Because I am a total klutz, I accidentally lost the paragraph above (I know, not that bad, but still) cause I forgot to save and closed the window… Anyways, yeah….)

And here’s what’s on my reading list right now!

Troubled Waters by Sharon Shinn (I scanned the first couple of pages of this book and I’m already hooked!)

Mystic and Rider by Sharon Shinn

Archangel by Sharon Shinn

Dreamer’s Pool by Juliet Marillier

Lots of Sharon Shinn and fantasies of late! I’m almost certain that I’ll get sidetracked and read something else (as I still have other books yet to read from my last library haul and I always end up buying new books), but that’s what’s on my plate right now!

What have you all been reading? Anything good I should know about??

(Because, of course, that’s what I need, more books, right? Haha!)

3 thoughts on “Books I’ve Been Reading!

  1. janellaa says:

    OMG BLACK JEWELS YASSSSS! Dying to get my hands on the third, aren’t they amazing?!?!!?! And what a coincidence, Katie McGarry was one of my first gateways into YA contemp! Also dying to read her new book (bc I love motorcycle gangs :P)

    I’m currently reading (when I should be revising) Sandry’s Book by Tamora Pierce and Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard . . . so lots of fantasy on my end too!

    Like

    • erinkbay says:

      SERIOUSLY!!! Black Jewels is AWESOME! I cannot stop reading them!!! Ugh, they’re sooooo good!!! OMG, Katie McGarry’s the best! I love love her books!! Though I think Crash Into Me might be my favorite!! :)) But yes Nowhere But Here is a must-read! Haven’t heard of Sandry’s Book, but I love Tamora Pierce’s Alanna series!! So good!! Need to reread! Ooh!! You’ll have to let me know what you think of Red Queen! I haven’t gotten to it, but I’ve heard a lot of opinions on it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

