Ode to O’ Taylor Swift

Woooo!!! It has been a looong while since I posted anything!! Turns out I’m not great at this blogging thing… Yeah… So sorry about that!! But I swear, I have been thinking a lot about different topics I could talk about and, I won’t make any promises, but I hope I’ll update once in a while!!

So as this title suggests, I want to talk about Taylor Swift! I am a huge huge huge fan! I have all her CDs and I think she is just amazing artist and person in general.

As many of you know, her latest album 1989 came out just a few months ago! Ahh, so exciting!!! I’ll admit, when I heard it was going to be released as a pop album instead of country, I was a bit wary. I mean, change can be scary. But I shouldn’t have worried! I LOVE THIS ALBUM!! In fact, I think it might even be my favorite of them all!

But it got me wondering–what is it about Taylor Swift that makes me love her songs so much??

Yes, I love her as a person. I absolutely admire her talent for songwriting and love that she writes her own music; I love the sound of her music itself–I think it’s so powerful–but that could apply to many other musicians. So why wasn’t I having the same reaction to them as with Taylor Swift? Something about Taylor Swift really hits me in the gut. Really makes me listen to the lyrics, really makes me feel the emotions of the song. But why?

The answer hit me. I realized it was because her songs are telling me stories. When I listen to a Taylor Swift song and hear the lyrics or a specific line, I can feel the story–and it’s the exact same feeling as when I get a book hangover. A lot of you may think that’s obvious. Duh, Erin, you didn’t realize that before? Nope, at least not on a conscious level. But once I did, it all made sense. It made me realize that no matter how much I like a song, if it doesn’t have a sense of story with it, it will never grow into these life-long obsessions where I listen to that one song on repeat for weeks and weeks. I mean, yeah, of course a song has to be sonically pleasing, but without a strong story behind it, it won’t stick with me. Above all, I am attracted to stories and even within songs, that seems to be what I’m drawn to. When I listen to Taylor Swift, I feel so inspired and it makes me want to create these stories and mimic the feelings I get from her music.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that other musicians aren’t telling stories–they are. But it’s like with books. Some stories resonate with you and some don’t. And Taylor Swift happens to resonate with me very much, which is why I love love love her music! Not to mention, that I just happen to love her style of music!

Here’s a link that I read a few months ago by the amazing author Jessica Brody, which talks in depth about specific story elements in Taylor Swift’s Begin Again in relation to beat sheets!! (By the way, I LOVE this song!)

http://www.jessicabrody.com/2014/07/begin-again-by-taylor-swift-beat-sheet/

Cool, huh?

Anyways, this was something that I have been wanting to write about for quite a while now and I’m really glad that I did! Now, I know this post is long, but to finish off, I want to mention the songs or lines from 1989 that hit me gutturally. Also, this section is pretty long and extensive (cause I just couldn’t resist), so feel free to skip it! 😀

1. Blank Space

This one immediately caught my attention for many many reasons–mainly for the intriguing title and story (plus the music video is AWESOME!). Here are some of my absolute favorite lines!! (Aren’t they amazing????)

Nice to meet you/Where you been?/I could show you incredible things

Love’s a game, wanna play?

Ain’t it funny, rumors fly

I can make the bad guys good for a weekend

So it’s gonna be forever, or it’s gonna go down in flames

But I’ve got a blank space, baby, and I’ll write your name

Rose garden filled with thorns keep you second guessing

Cause darling I’m a nightmare dressed like daydream

2. Style

In this song, I feel this really deep sense of sadness and wishful thinking and longing.

Long drive, could end in burning flames or paradise

So it goes, he can’t keep his wild eyes on the road

3. Out of the Woods

For this one, the title is what really grabs me as well the pure intensity of the music and feelings in the song. I think this is probably the most powerful song in the album for me, particularly the bridge.

The rest of the world was in black and white, but we were in screaming color

When you started crying, baby I did too/When the sun came up, I was lookin’ at you

Remember when we couldn’t take the heat/I walked out and said, “I’m settin’ you free,”

But the monsters turned out to be just trees/When the sun came up, you were lookin’ at me

4. Bad Blood

Again, with this one, I love the title! Even before I heard the actual song, I was already intrigued by it and of course, when you listen to it, the anger and hurt and feelings of betrayal are really strong.

Cause baby, now we got bad blood/You know it used to be mad love

Did you have to ruin what was shining now it’s all rusted

Did you have to hit me?/Where I’m weak, baby, I couldn’t breathe

Still got scars on my back from your knife

So don’t think it’s in the past, these kind of wounds they last and they last

Time can heal, but this won’t/So if you’re coming my way, just don’t

Bandaids don’t fix bullet holes

If you live like that, you live with ghost

If you love like that, blood runs cold 

5. Wildest Dreams

Yet another song that lured me in by it’s title! It’s one of those beautifully tragic and resigned yet hopeful songs. Plus, it reminds me of Think of Me from Phantom of the Opera, which I love and which is equally sad and beautiful.

I thought heaven can’t help me now/Nothing lasts forever, but this is gonna take me down

I can see the end as it begins, my one condition is

Say you’ll remember me/Standing in a nice dress, staring at the sunset

I said, “No one has to know what we do,”/His hands are in my hair, his clothes are in my room

And his voice is a familiar sound/Nothing lasts forever, but this is getting good now

And when we’ve had our very last kiss, my last request is

Someday when you leave me, I bet these memories follow you around

Say you’ll see me again, even if it’s just in your wildest dreams 

6. I Know Places

Ooh, a dark song! Kind of sinistery and “us against the world” feel–really desperate and running away.

You stand with your hand on my waist line/It’s a scene and we’re out here in plain sight

You can hear them whisper as we pass by/It’s a bad sign

See the vultures circling dark clouds

Love’s a fragile little flame, it could burn out

Cause they got the cages, they got the boxes/And guns/They are the hunters, we are the foxes/And we run

Baby, I know places we won’t be found/And they’ll be chasing their tails trying to track us down

Loose lips sink ships all the damn time/Not this time

And you know for me, it’s always you

7. Clean

Wow!! I love this song! This was probably the first song where I immediately felt a connection to. Especially the line And that morning, gone was any trace of you, I think I am finally clean. It just blew me away and I couldn’t stop thinking about for days and days!! Even now, months later, I–the feeling I get from this song is so profound!!

Hung my head as I lost the war and the sky turned black like a perfect storm

Rain came pouring down/When I was drowning, that’s when I could finally breathe

And that morning, gone was any trace of you/I think I am finally clean

The water filled my lungs/I screamed so loud but no one heard a thing

Ten months sober, I must admit/Just because you’re clean don’t mean you don’t miss it

Ten months older, I won’t give in/Now that I’m clean I’m never gonna risk it

Wow, what a mighty long post! I guess that’s what happens when you don’t blog for months (maybe?). Also, on a weird note, today happens to be Taylor Swift’s birthday, which is kind of cool, cause I didn’t plan to write this today… Coincidence?

Thanks for reading!!!

Leave a Reply

