Binge-Reading Extravaganza!

Wow, so it’s been ten days since I’ve last posted… Haha, clearly, I’m off to a great start!! Well, since Monday is the first day of the week (or at least what I consider the first), I’m going to try to post every Monday (or more often than that if I can manage)… but again, we’ll see how that actually pans out.

Anyways, I took the GRE this past Thursday and naturally, instead of studying like crazy for it, I binge-read a lot of books, which I thought I’d share! 🙂

 

1. Taken by Erin Bowman

Grey lives in Claysoot, where when a boy turns eighteen, he is Heisted–gone with a bright flash of white light.

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I don’t know what I expected, but Erin Bowman’s writing is amazing! So beautifully crafted without sacrificing voice. It’s got a dystopian feel to it (though I wouldn’t say it is a true dystopian) and I loved the romance between Grey and Emma. Definitely a recommended read!

 

2. Frozen by Erin Bowman

Sequel to Taken! Grey’s adventures continue!

Again, it’s not what I expected at all. There are new characters, new things we learn about Grey’s world. Erin Bowman was again successful in sucking me into her book. I enjoyed reading Frozen a lot–so much happens in to the characters! But what was I thinking? The next (and last) book, Forged, comes out April 2015! So, waiting it is.

 

3. Strange and Ever After by Susan Dennard

The conclusion to the Something Strange and Deadly trilogy in which Eleanor Fitt must once and for all face Marcus–an evil, power-hungry necromancer who is determined take away everything and everyone that she loves.

Susan Dennard–one of my favorite authors ever! I’ll have to dedicate an entire post to her one day to talk about  how amazing she is. Anyways, I never would have guessed this ending!! So beautiful and tragic at the same time. It literally shocked me to the core. I’m sad to see this series end, but I am more excited than I can say for Susan Dennard’s forthcoming series Truthwitch! I cannot wait to read it!

 

4. Monstrous Beauty by Elizabeth Fama

A dark tale about mermaids in which mermaid Syrenka falls in love with human Ezra, only to make a dire choice that results in a curse spanning years into the future.

I will basically read anything that has to do with mermaids or under the sea! Monstrous Beauty alternates between present-day Hester and Ezra and Syrenka’s tale in the late 1800s. This is very unlike any other mermaid tale I’ve read and though I hesitate to call it a retelling of The Little Mermaid, I can definitely see the similarities. It is also one of the darkest mermaid stories I’ve read–maybe a little too dark for my taste, but it was a great read anyhow.

 

5. Plus One by Elizabeth Fama

A book about a society in which people are assigned as either “day” or “night” and are only allowed out during those times.

Loved this book so much! I picked it up because almost solely based on the cover (although the synopsis was very intriguing as well) and wow! The story did not disappoint! I read this in one sitting and stayed up till about 1 o’ clock in order to finish this! Love love love!!! Unfortunately, I’m not sure if there’s going to be a sequel, but I’m holding out hope!

 

6. Fiendish by Brenna Yovanoff

Clementine has been trapped in a cellar for ten years, until she is released by Fischer. But Clementine finds that things are changing–some sort of magic is taking over, overwhelming the town.

Wow! I loved this book! I was a bit wary of reading this because I’d heard Brenna Yovanoff writes creepy, horror-ish books and I wasn’t sure about it, but… It was absolutely amazing!! Enjoyed it so much! I read it in one sitting and then immediately after I finished, I ordered the rest of Brenna Yovanoff’s books! I can’t wait to read them!

 

7. House of Ivy and Sorrow by Natalie Whipple

Josephine Hemlock is a witch living with her grandmother. When a deadly curse that killed her mother resurfaces, Jo goes on a search to figure out who is responsible.

This was a fun book. It had a distinct cutesy and high school feel to it mixed in with classic witchery i.e. potions, curses, recipes, spells–I love it! Granted, I will admit it did take me a while to get into, but by the end, I was fully invested. The cover and title was also one that very much attracted me and urged me to read the book!

 

8. The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab

A blend of fairy tale and romance, in The Near Witch, Lexi is a headstrong girl determined to live her own path. When children in her town start disappearing, she sets out to find who took them.

The romance between Lexi and Cole was great! Loved it from the very beginning! The story definitely a sort of folktale sort of feel to it that was really fun to read. It also had the classic townspeople who are determined to blame witches for all their troubles, which made Lexi and Cole’s relationship that much more interesting (you’ll see why if you read!). I have Victoria Schwab’s The Archived which I am very much looking forward to reading.

 

9. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars is about the Sinclair family and their summer time adventures.

Erm… Don’t want to give it away, cause it would totally ruin the entire book (I’m dying to tell someone… but I’ll resist)! Not what I expected but really intriguing!

 

10. Perfect Ruin by Lauren Destefano

Morgan lives in a city in the sky called Internment, living a seemingly perfect life–but secretly, she dreams of the ground and fears that she is going mad, like her brother once did after seeing the edge.

Lauren Destefano’s writing is truly beautiful! Another dystopian series, but very different and unique than others I’ve read and I love the idea of a floating city–very reminiscent of Miyazaki’s Castle in the Sky and Arrested Development‘s Bluthton (Haha!). I can’t wait to see what happens in the next one!

 

11. Atlantia (ARC) by Ally Condie

Rio lives in Atlantia, an underwater city. When her sister, Bay, without any word, chooses to go up to live on land, Rio is determined to find out why.

Loved the Matched trilogy and this one does not disappoint! Ally Condie also has a very beautiful, lyrical way of writing that I love reading. Plus I LOVE underwater stories!! I can’t wait till this comes out so I can buy an actual copy.

 

12. Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood

Cate and her two sisters are all witches and she is desperately trying to keep them safe, doing everything they can to hide their magic and avoid being sent to Harwood asylum by the Brotherhood, or worse.

Lately, I’ve been really drawn to stories about witches! This book, I feel, has less emphasis on actual magic and more emphasis on women, sisterhood, and the consequences of magic in a male dominant, anti-magic society mixed in with elements of historical fiction! Enjoyed this one a lot! And GOSH that ending!!

 

I know these are pretty brief reviews, but since there were so many, I thought it would be best! Maybe next time I’ll be able to give some more thorough views on my thoughts! 🙂

I should also add: I read Atlantia, Taken, Frozen, and Strange and Ever After before my current binge-reading period, but everything else, I read within about a week! I’m currently reading Star Cursed which is the second of the Cahill Witch Chronicles and having fun so far and the third, Sisters’ Fate, I just bought today!

I’ll be off to England and France this Wednesday and for my reading, I’m planning on taking The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling!

What did you read on your latest binge-read (or regular read)?

Leave a Reply

